We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest place we stayed in America”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendliest place we stayed in America”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We did a 3 week road trip across the whole length of America, and this place had just about the best staff of any hotel we stayed in. Receptionists chatted to us on arrival and made us feel really welcome. One of them even called once we were settled into our room to make sure we had everything we needed. Concierge was helpful and gave great advice. Fitness room was decent enough, running machines, dumbells, the usual hotel gym.
Location is perfect, in a safe area and just a few minutes' walk from some fantastic bars and restaurants.
Room was fine, no complaints at all. The real star of this place is the barman, John. He was so genuinely friendly (don't think he churned out the stock "have a nice day" once!), it was great just chatting to him about everything from sport to American history.
The breakfast room is way too small and cramped, but I'm not going to take a point off because the staff worked so hard to keep the food and (decent) coffee topped up. We're fairly reserved Brits, not the kind who become best buddies with every member of staff we meet in every place we stay, but I really can't say enough about how great the staff here are.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanWhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I know the team we have assembled here really does work hard and genuinely care about our guests. Its great to hear that it really is shining through in their service. I am very proud to hear that you thought they were the best you found on your travels and will be sure to share the feedback with them! Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,903
    1,194
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
881
1,395
131
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Wow! From check-in to check-out, everything was great!
Good location, just be aware that it's not IN the French Quarter, but it's only a short walk to Decatur.
The staff was professional and helpful. The rooms were super nice and roomy (refrigerator! microwave!) I love the way they incorporated the old buildings into the hotel. The lobby was comfortable and oh so cool after a long, hot, humid day of activities. Definitely an oasis!
Breakfast was yummy.
The only complaint we had was the incredibly obnoxious "adults" at the dipping pool. That certainly isn't the hotel's fault though.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor (only 5 floors), it was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CgrrlIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and simply loved it. We had a room that over looked the atrium so the lighting was not the greatest this did not detract from the overall enjoyment. The hotel though not modern had a charm that can not be found in newer hotels. The lobby provided instant appeal as soon as you enter the building. The staff was helpful in particular the concierge who stopped by our table each morning to offer info and directions. The room was clean and spacious thanks to the great housekeeping staff. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend and the location was fabulous !! The hotel staff was very attentive, the valets did a superb job, the housekeeping staff and breakfast staff were the best !! Great hotel all in all. We stay at CI & S all over the US and this has been by far the best !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxandNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We visited Aug 7 thru Aug 9, 2012--The hotel is very clean; the staff was very friendly and helpful. We were in room 348-king standard, had lots of room, bed was comfortable. This hotel is within walking distance of attractions. Staff helped to arrange our plantation tour--A must see I would recommend this location if you plan to visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
264 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great deal for the money. Free breakfast, Swimming Pool. Extremely helpful concierge desk. Extremely friendly staff. Clean and big rooms with comfortable beds. They hide noise well. Unique feel because its an old warehouse they refinished into a hotel. They did an amazing job of preserving some of the charm while making it a new and beautiful hotel. Great Location for New Orleans. You are within walking distance of WWII museum, Bourbon street, the Superdome, cruise ship port, casino and everything New Orleans has to offer. You are on the quieter, cleaner, and safer side of Canal street.I will stay here again when I come to New Orleans for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel was very nice. The location was great because it was close enough to everything and we were able to walk to bourbon st, but yet far enough away where it wasn't loud all the time. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly. The pool was relaxing and breakfast was nice. The valets were great and always had our car ready when we needed it. Overall we had a great time and I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer8987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#43 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing