We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“a great place to stay”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Country Inn and Suites in the French Quarter has a lot going for it. The location is central to the River District and French Quarter and is a safe location. The accomodations are clean and comfortable and the hotel has a lot of character. The free breakfast is a bonus. The front desk staff, valets, and concierge staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    1,197
    257
    96
    67
See reviews for
883
1,397
131
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great location for business or leisure, everything at walking distance. The staff were very friendly and always helpful, there is a great trip organizer to book your tours.Very clean rooms and a great bed! but noisy during the night (the more than an inch gap under the door didn`t help).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Glad you had a good time in New Orleans. The location is great for business travel (with so many of the major office building within just a short walk) and perfect to mix in some leisure on your trip (with so many attractions likewise very close). Its definitely a location where a business traveller can be very productive, but still get to experience a bit of what New Orleans has to offer. Hope that you get to come back to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Great experience at this hotel. Close to everything. Walking distance to all attractions. Very quiet too.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

2 adults 3 children(10,12,14) stayed in a great Suite with plenty room overlooking the streets of Magazine street. Great location right off Canal St- walk to Jackson Sq- French Qtr - hop a street car. Safe location for walking and they have valet parking which is great for safety($35 a day). Finding parking is almost impossible and you don't want to park too far. The hotel has wonderful maintained character of New Orleans history. The staff is very nice and the Concierge is on hand to answer and help. The breakfast was very sufficient for continential with fried potatoes, eggs, biscuits & gravy, danish, bagels,yogurt ,waffles and they keep it stocked even close to closing. They serve fresh cookies all day with 24 hr coffee. The room had 2 very comfortable queen beds with wardrobe and tv. In between the room is the closet with safe ,mini kitchen and bathroom then the living area with sleeper sofa and large tv. The only thing it needed was fresh air from an open window or a fan to circulate.

Room Tip: Suite facing street- 302-303-304 is all I could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkmFayetteville_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Glad you and your family enjoyed the hotel and the city! It sounds like all the little things that we try to do (Free breakfast, microwave, fridge, cookies, internet etc....) really made a difference. It is great to get feedback on these things, as we really do use it in our decision making. Hopefully you get to come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our family of 4, joined by another family of 4, stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on our first visit to New Orleans. We loved this hotel. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The lobby has a very creative look to it and is attractive yet different (which we really liked). The fresh cookies in the lobby were awesome! The bellman went out of his way to help us secure a taxi to the port and load 8 of us and a ton of luggage into the van. The breakfast had a good variety. Exercise room was clean and cool. We didn't use the pool but it is fairly small with a good location and was clean.

The only downside was that we were on the 3rd floor and the trash trucks in the alley woke us up at 6:30 a.m. one morning. Other than that, a great stay, a great location. We walked everywhere we wanted to go from this location and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Close to the WWII Museum, Mother's (great local restaurant), River Walk, Harrah's and, of course, Bourbon Street.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to avoid alley noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikellh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Glad you had a great stay! The staff seems to be doing some fantastic work lately - its getting hard to find new ways to sing their praises! I'll keep doing it though. I am also glad that all the extra amenities - fitness center, pool, cookies, breakfast, internet - that are included are helping to add to everyones experience. Getting feedback like this really helps us know that things are on the right track!

Thank you for taking the time to share, and we hope you get to come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I just stayed here last weekend for a last minute girls weekend trip with my twin sister and best friend who flew in from Ohio. I literally booked this hotel the night before we left and very happy that I picked this hotel.

PROS:

- Everyone at this hotel is freaking friendly! From the doorman to the checkin desk to Brian, who was my favorite breakfast attendant. As soon as we checked into the hotel and settled into our room, the manager of the hotel called me and made sure to welcome us to the hotel and told us to not hesiate to contact them if we did. That was a wow factor! I have never had a manager do that before and especially in a big city.

- The hotel is only 3 blocks away from Canal Street and the crazy Bourban Street. Honestly, for 3 girls to walk around in a big city at 2:00am in the morning, we felt very safe at all times of the day and night!

- DId I mention that this hotel provides free hot breakfast every morning? I had 5 plates of hot waffles, bagels, oatmeal, mixed fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and pancakes!

CONS:

-Absolutely none!

I would recommend this hotel for anyone that needs somewhere to stay down in NOLA!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
What a fantastic review - Thank you so much for sharing! We are glad you had a great girls weekend. I know it sounds cliche, but the staff definitely does go the extra mile and I think it shows up in a lot of these reviews. As a manager, having a staff so willing to do those extra little things makes all the difference. The location is also fantastic and adds to the experience. I think we have a great balance, of location, staff, amenities, and price. Hopefully you get a chance to come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights pre cruise, last day of mardi gras, superb value.
walk across the road to canal street, french quarter, clean, lovely rooms, superb staff,
breakfast complimentary. and very good price. will stay there again. great experience. new orleans has very happy people!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Glad you had such a great stay! What a fantastic way to kick off your cruise. New Orleans departures are like having a whole extra port of call on the trip. It really adds to the cruise value!


Hopefully you can come back and visit again soon! Thanks for taking the time to write the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#45 of 163 in New Orleans
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing