We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Country Inn & Suites - New Orleans, LA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #31 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Country Inn & Suites - New Orleans, LA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our family of 4, joined by another family of 4, stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on our first visit to New Orleans. We loved this hotel. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The lobby has a very creative look to it and is attractive yet different (which we really liked). The fresh cookies in the lobby were awesome! The bellman went out of his way to help us secure a taxi to the port and load 8 of us and a ton of luggage into the van. The breakfast had a good variety. Exercise room was clean and cool. We didn't use the pool but it is fairly small with a good location and was clean.

The only downside was that we were on the 3rd floor and the trash trucks in the alley woke us up at 6:30 a.m. one morning. Other than that, a great stay, a great location. We walked everywhere we wanted to go from this location and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Close to the WWII Museum, Mother's (great local restaurant), River Walk, Harrah's and, of course, Bourbon Street.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to avoid alley noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikellh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Glad you had a great stay! The staff seems to be doing some fantastic work lately - its getting hard to find new ways to sing their praises! I'll keep doing it though. I am also glad that all the extra amenities - fitness center, pool, cookies, breakfast, internet - that are included are helping to add to everyones experience. Getting feedback like this really helps us know that things are on the right track!

Thank you for taking the time to share, and we hope you get to come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,827
    1,130
    242
    82
    58
See reviews for
835
1,325
125
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

I just stayed here last weekend for a last minute girls weekend trip with my twin sister and best friend who flew in from Ohio. I literally booked this hotel the night before we left and very happy that I picked this hotel.

PROS:

- Everyone at this hotel is freaking friendly! From the doorman to the checkin desk to Brian, who was my favorite breakfast attendant. As soon as we checked into the hotel and settled into our room, the manager of the hotel called me and made sure to welcome us to the hotel and told us to not hesiate to contact them if we did. That was a wow factor! I have never had a manager do that before and especially in a big city.

- The hotel is only 3 blocks away from Canal Street and the crazy Bourban Street. Honestly, for 3 girls to walk around in a big city at 2:00am in the morning, we felt very safe at all times of the day and night!

- DId I mention that this hotel provides free hot breakfast every morning? I had 5 plates of hot waffles, bagels, oatmeal, mixed fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and pancakes!

CONS:

-Absolutely none!

I would recommend this hotel for anyone that needs somewhere to stay down in NOLA!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
What a fantastic review - Thank you so much for sharing! We are glad you had a great girls weekend. I know it sounds cliche, but the staff definitely does go the extra mile and I think it shows up in a lot of these reviews. As a manager, having a staff so willing to do those extra little things makes all the difference. The location is also fantastic and adds to the experience. I think we have a great balance, of location, staff, amenities, and price. Hopefully you get a chance to come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights pre cruise, last day of mardi gras, superb value.
walk across the road to canal street, french quarter, clean, lovely rooms, superb staff,
breakfast complimentary. and very good price. will stay there again. great experience. new orleans has very happy people!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Glad you had such a great stay! What a fantastic way to kick off your cruise. New Orleans departures are like having a whole extra port of call on the trip. It really adds to the cruise value!


Hopefully you can come back and visit again soon! Thanks for taking the time to write the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Are you the least bit claustrophobic? If so, make sure you don't stay in a windowless room. Yes, the staff is working hard and thoughtful. Yes, the included breakfast is a great deal. Yes, it's nice to have two rooms and a microwave and mini-refrigerator. No, it doesn't matter that the pool is just big enough for a few sets of feet or that the towels are way too thin. The only problem is that the rooms that look over the lobby & seating area have windowless bedrooms. Return to the front desk. Get another room. And then enjoy all the good things about this place.

Room Tip: Run from the suites where the bedrooms don't have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDinDC20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed here one night before going on a cruise vacation, and it was an awesome night!

First off, I was upgraded to a premium suite at not additional charge. The room was spacious and had two flat screen TV's, a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, safe, etc. While the decor was a little dated looking, but it added to the unique design of the hotel with the brink walls and exposed wooden beams. The room was clean, but missing small things like the shampoo bottle, coffee cup, etc. There was a second set of bedding in the closet for the fold out couch.

The swimming pool is rather small, but was heated very well for the cold night we were there. There's also a mini "store" were you can buy food and trinkets at a decent price. The free breakfast was AWESOME and I highly recommend the waffles. You can still get free cookies at anytime located at the check-in desk. The staff was nice.

The only real complaint that I have is the noise. The walls are not really sound proofed and I could hear the people in the rooms around us, in the lobby, and cars on the street outside the window. So if you plan on being loud, have small or hyper children, or need absolute quite, look somewhere else.

The hotel is within walking distance of the French Quarters and the cruise pier (if you have small bags). There’s no parking lot, but valet parking is available.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel & plan on staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breshiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

This hotel is not considered in the historical French Quarter district so the price is reasonable. You are only a few blocks from there. The hotel is old but clean. Our room was spacious, bed comfy. View was not good. Looking at an empty building. Overall it was a good location & if you like to walk, you can walk over to the French Quarter & the Casino. We also walked to board the boat. Make sure if you do this to ask for walking directions.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missjane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Though we are not in the actual French Quarter, we like to think we offer the best of both worlds. We are just 2.5 blocks away, so everything is VERY close to walk to - but we are just far enough that the French Quarter noise doesnt follow you home. As you noted, its a great compromise as EVERYTHING is within just a few steps! We hope you get to come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis TN
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Have stayed there 2x during the past 3 months. Most recently 12/24-26. Helpful staff, very good accomodations for an affordable price. The location is within a couple of blocks to the French Quarter, a nice walk to the WW II Museum and right on the Magazine St bus line. For those interested in exploring NO outside the Quarter, try Magazine St.

Room Tip: We always request a suite facing Magazine St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Magazine Street really is a great stretch of New Orleans! With all the local shops and restaurants and such it gives a great atmosphere to experience the city! I am glad that we have established ourselves as your "go to" location! Hopefully you get to come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing