We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #42 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very clean hotel. Friendly staff fresh cookies always at the desk. Nice breakfast each day. Helpful staff offering tips on where to and such. Two blocks from the french quarter

Room Tip: ask for quiet room not over the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for the kind words. Whether it be cookies, breakfast or the wireless internet - we really try to give a little something extra included in the price of the room. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience, and hope you get to come back and stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,790 - 2,796 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights from Jan 26th, 27th and 28th. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel what so ever! Everyone was very helpful and our hotel room was clean and the bed was comfy. The only thing that is kind of misleading is when booking online it says it is in the French Quarter and it is not. It is a 5 to 10 minute walk. That didnt bother us, even at night when coming from Bourbon I never felt uneasy about the walk. It is a ways from Bourbon though,so if you don't like walking or arent able to walk far get a cab.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSOUTHERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Glad you had a great time! Depending on where you are going in the French Quarter, walking times can definitely vary from just 2-3 minutes up to about 15-20 for the furthest edges. Everything is pretty close, but if you want to avoid the walks there are both cabs, and brand new pedi-cabs (bicycle cabs) that can get you anywhere you need to be very quickly for a nominal fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

As a solo traveller, I am always on guard and alert while visiting any big city such as the Big Easy. But I was not happy with the surprise and unknown security guard outside the Country Inn at 2 AM on Saturday morning, Jan 28. Though he showed a nametag, it was not a "Country Inn and Suites" nametag. How am I suppose to reach into my wallet for my room key with this unknown stranger mere steps away? Yikes.

This hotel is a great value. Comfortable beds. "Housewives of Beverly Hills" playing on Bravo on the 50-channel large screen television. Large, satisfying breakfast. Interesting layout. Large, glass, suspended lamps in the handsome lobby.

Several of the staff could use some polish. At the busy breakfast, one of the attendants was standing by the garbage container, making sure that each plate had all food scraps removed
before the plate landed in the bus bin. At one point, there were 4 guests delayed near the container, waiting for the attendant. Hey, we are the guests. Though there are other garbage containers, the one by the entry/exit door is the "go to" one due to its prime location.

On the elevator, a maintenance man twice scratched his zipper area.

At check out, when asking for a print out of the room receipt, the Trainee said something along the lines "but you already should have a copy."

This was my second stay at this hotel, and I am likely to return again. It has an excellent location, and It is great fun seeing the different layouts of the varied rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LodgerFromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you for the feedback! We are thrilled you had a good time in New Orleans and look forward to you coming back again soon. I discussed all the suggestions with the relevant departments, as they were all definitely places we could improve your experience. I appreciate you taking the time to share it all, and also endorsing us for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This was a weekend getaway for my husband and I for his birthday. This was our 3rd time staying here. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Andrew, Calvin and Heather you made this weekend a great surprise for my husband. Everything was perfect!! John at the bar is awesome as always! Sit with him for a while and have a drink or two and you will find out a lot about New Orleans!! Great and comfy place!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnysideoftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Glad to hear the entire staff went the extra mile to make the big weekend special for you! John really is a treasure, and I definitely encourage anyone that has some time to spare to sit and chat with him some - He still surpises me with some of his random New Orleans trivia!

Hopefully you get to come back again soon, and explore the city some more! Thank you for taking the time to share the kind words, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here for a bachelor party. We all wanted our own beds so we went 3 to a room and rotated the sofa bed (which surprisingly, wasn't too bad). Good sized rooms, tv in bedroom and 'living room'. Front desk has cookies out all day, they are OK. Very convenient mini mart in the hotel lobby, open all day, sell gatorades, waters, snacks, other sundry items. Front desk was helpful but the 'system' seemed to be down quite a bit. Couldn't sign our bill when we were leaving and also had trouble getting replacement keys a few times. A little further off Bourbon street but definitely walkable. Decently close to the rest of the quarter, never felt nervous about the area or anything, really close to the casino. Breakfast is decent, nothing special but not terrible. Overall solid place to stay if you're looking for a cheap spot that is clean and no frills.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nchristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Congrats to the future groom! Glad you guys had a good time in New Orleans. I know about a week or so ago, there was a day when there was some city wide work on the internet servers and it effected the whole neighborhood - so without knowing exactly what day you had trouble, I am guessing that was the date, as our system is normally rock solid! Otherwise, it sounds like you got to take advantage of all the little extras that come with staying here. Glad that they were enjoyed and appreciated. Hopefully you guys can make it a more regular trip down to New Orleans for guys weekends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed here with friends for the weekend and we found the location to be very convenient for exploring New Orleans. Just a short 5-10 min walk into the heart of the French Quarter. A short walk to catch the historic streetcar (Be sure to ride the streetcar to visit the Garden district!)

ROOMS: Clean, comfortable, standard for a Country Inn.

COURTYARD & POOL: The courtyard is beautiful with a small (well heated) swiming pool - a nice quiet retreat from the busy streets. Breakfast is served in the sunny lobby adjacent to the outdoor courtyard.

STAFF: Service was fine. No issues. Our most pleasant encounters with staff were with housekeeping staff, the maintenance man, and the concierge. The front desk staff could have been a little warmer.

Room Tip: Elevators are SLOW.... choose the ground floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Glad you had a great time in New Orleans. Being able to walk to everything in the French Quarter, and even the Superdome, coupled with easy access to the streetcars really does give you a chance to get out and see a TON of stuff without even needing a car. Hopefully you get to come back soon and explore the city some more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Just spent 8 nights at the Country Inn and Suites on Magazine. It was a very nice location for moving around the city. Only 3 blocks or so from Canal St. where you can catch a streetcar and go further. The valet men at the hotel were very helpful. We were very appreciative of their help with cabs and storing our luggage. The front desk was always very helpful. I much appreciated them giving me a box to send home extra things I purchased and didn't want to bring home in my luggage. I believe they said Fed Ex and UPS will pick up right there at the hotel. The concierge was helpful but we often thought they were trying to push a certain line of tours and not sure just why that was. We were very happy with our stay here. We stayed in 2 different rooms here. The standard king bed room was pretty small but bathroom was decent sized. Also stayed in a 2 queen bed suite which was very roomy but had a small bathroom. The only issue we has was 3 women using the bathroom and there were no vents in the bathroom to get rid of shower steam. We dealt with it o.k. but was surprised at that. We would recommend staying at this hotel. It had a lot of good points!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanawhaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the kind words. We really appreciate you giving us your endorsement! My best guess on the concierge question, is that they get feedback all the time, and tend to have companies that they trust to best take care of guests. I am glad to hear everyone was very helpful, and you had a great trip!

Hopefully you get to come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing