We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay!”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This was a weekend getaway for my husband and I for his birthday. This was our 3rd time staying here. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Andrew, Calvin and Heather you made this weekend a great surprise for my husband. Everything was perfect!! John at the bar is awesome as always! Sit with him for a while and have a drink or two and you will find out a lot about New Orleans!! Great and comfy place!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnysideoftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Glad to hear the entire staff went the extra mile to make the big weekend special for you! John really is a treasure, and I definitely encourage anyone that has some time to spare to sit and chat with him some - He still surpises me with some of his random New Orleans trivia!

Hopefully you get to come back again soon, and explore the city some more! Thank you for taking the time to share the kind words, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    1,197
    257
    96
    67
See reviews for
883
1,397
131
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here for a bachelor party. We all wanted our own beds so we went 3 to a room and rotated the sofa bed (which surprisingly, wasn't too bad). Good sized rooms, tv in bedroom and 'living room'. Front desk has cookies out all day, they are OK. Very convenient mini mart in the hotel lobby, open all day, sell gatorades, waters, snacks, other sundry items. Front desk was helpful but the 'system' seemed to be down quite a bit. Couldn't sign our bill when we were leaving and also had trouble getting replacement keys a few times. A little further off Bourbon street but definitely walkable. Decently close to the rest of the quarter, never felt nervous about the area or anything, really close to the casino. Breakfast is decent, nothing special but not terrible. Overall solid place to stay if you're looking for a cheap spot that is clean and no frills.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nchristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Congrats to the future groom! Glad you guys had a good time in New Orleans. I know about a week or so ago, there was a day when there was some city wide work on the internet servers and it effected the whole neighborhood - so without knowing exactly what day you had trouble, I am guessing that was the date, as our system is normally rock solid! Otherwise, it sounds like you got to take advantage of all the little extras that come with staying here. Glad that they were enjoyed and appreciated. Hopefully you guys can make it a more regular trip down to New Orleans for guys weekends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed here with friends for the weekend and we found the location to be very convenient for exploring New Orleans. Just a short 5-10 min walk into the heart of the French Quarter. A short walk to catch the historic streetcar (Be sure to ride the streetcar to visit the Garden district!)

ROOMS: Clean, comfortable, standard for a Country Inn.

COURTYARD & POOL: The courtyard is beautiful with a small (well heated) swiming pool - a nice quiet retreat from the busy streets. Breakfast is served in the sunny lobby adjacent to the outdoor courtyard.

STAFF: Service was fine. No issues. Our most pleasant encounters with staff were with housekeeping staff, the maintenance man, and the concierge. The front desk staff could have been a little warmer.

Room Tip: Elevators are SLOW.... choose the ground floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Glad you had a great time in New Orleans. Being able to walk to everything in the French Quarter, and even the Superdome, coupled with easy access to the streetcars really does give you a chance to get out and see a TON of stuff without even needing a car. Hopefully you get to come back soon and explore the city some more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanawha, Ia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Just spent 8 nights at the Country Inn and Suites on Magazine. It was a very nice location for moving around the city. Only 3 blocks or so from Canal St. where you can catch a streetcar and go further. The valet men at the hotel were very helpful. We were very appreciative of their help with cabs and storing our luggage. The front desk was always very helpful. I much appreciated them giving me a box to send home extra things I purchased and didn't want to bring home in my luggage. I believe they said Fed Ex and UPS will pick up right there at the hotel. The concierge was helpful but we often thought they were trying to push a certain line of tours and not sure just why that was. We were very happy with our stay here. We stayed in 2 different rooms here. The standard king bed room was pretty small but bathroom was decent sized. Also stayed in a 2 queen bed suite which was very roomy but had a small bathroom. The only issue we has was 3 women using the bathroom and there were no vents in the bathroom to get rid of shower steam. We dealt with it o.k. but was surprised at that. We would recommend staying at this hotel. It had a lot of good points!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanawhaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the kind words. We really appreciate you giving us your endorsement! My best guess on the concierge question, is that they get feedback all the time, and tend to have companies that they trust to best take care of guests. I am glad to hear everyone was very helpful, and you had a great trip!

Hopefully you get to come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The location was perfect for our visit but was surprised that nobody offered to assist us with our luggage to the room upon our arrival!

The staff were friendly and our room was unusual as there were no windows and the room had very high ceilings akin to a storeroom which it probably was in a bygone era. I'm not saying the room was bad but just not what I expected.

We did have one concern, we reported that our bathroom had a problem with the plug and extractor to reception and we had left a few dollars for the maid. When we returned the money on the pillow was missing but the plug had been fixed, bed was not made so the maid didn't get paid, and why were they taking money from the bedroom?

Breakfast was a bit of a bun fight as there were many people trying to get breakfast and kitchen could not cope with the re-supply! This included coffee and OJ, we decided to have breakfast out both mornings.

The bar is very small but staff again very helpful and friendly.

Would I stay there again? The answer is yes but It may not be my first choice. I'm not saying this establishment is that bad by any means, it just wasn't what I was expecting.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daverogers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Well, we are glad you had a great trip to New Orleans and hope you come back again soon to visit (and stay with us!). I am not sure what happened with the issues you cited, but with further details, I could gladly investigate a bit more.

The hotel is actually 7 historic buildings that have been renovated to its current incarnation. The high ceilings are a trademark of the older New Orleans architecture (heat rises after all, so high ceilings were a must have in the summer months!). Though some of the buildings, at points in their history, did host commercial services - the high ceilings can be found throughout the city even in residential buildings and small homes. Can you tell I am a fan of the architecture?

As I said earlier, we definitely hope you get to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Nice quiet place with very unique, old world charm. I wanted a place that was away from Bourbon St. yet close enough to check it out. It's within walking distance to all of the attractions in the French Quarter.

As for the hotel itself, the staff was friendly and helpful, the bed was very comfortable, and the room was very quiet. The free breakfast was a real bonus! Would gladly recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This was not an expensive hotel but the service cleanliness,serviceand great hot breakfast couldn't be found anywhere else at this price.
Plus it is convient to everything you would want to see and do.
Walk, bus trolley or your own vehicle.
Will stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vineyardgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Though some reviews are lengthier - I think you hit on all my favorite parts of our hotel. We definitely try to give you a great value and relaxed trip. Whether that is with our convenient location, or exceptional service, going the extra mile is the goal. We are glad to hear you appreciated it and hope you get to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#45 of 163 in New Orleans
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing