We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient to French Quarter without French Quarter prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #40 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites for two nights in March.

It is an easy walk to the French Quarter. It was spring break for a number of schools but we booked online several weeks in advance and were able to take advantage of lower rates.

The hotel is a series of connected buildings, which add to its character. We stayed on the fourth floor, which is on three different levels, and which required several flights of stairs to get to our room.

The king room was small but private and very quiet, and the bed was comfortable. There is a small courtyard with a pool. Breakfast is a variety of cold and hot entrees, although they ran short by about twenty minutes with the hot food one morning. There is a small lounge area in the lobby with wine and beer for happy hour.

The hotel staff, including the front desk and the concierge, were very friendly and helpful. There is a charge for parking, and everything is handled through valet service, which was likewise friendly and efficient.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nw2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,813 - 2,819 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Would have rated 5 stars if room had been just a bit more "kept-up". Showed some wear and tear in room, but I will definately choose this hotel again for my trips to New Orleans. Awsome location, easy walk to Insectarium, Aquarium of Americas and French Quarter. I had my elderly mother with us and she had no problem walking to all of these. I've stayed in 5 different hotels during New Orleans visits and this is the one I will book again. Large rooms with fridge and microwave. The breakfast was great, staff is wonderful and helpful, pool is warm. The pool is very small, but perfect. My 7 year old and I hung out in the pool in the rain at night, the water was warm and it is outdoors but very protected. We just loved it. The hotel has great character being an old factory(?) and they really did a great job chaging it over.

Room Tip: We chose first floor room because of my elderly mother, but window looked out on an ally. There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goodwaterwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Glad to hear you had such a good time, and everyone could easily partake in the fun due to its close proximity. There really is so much to do within just a few steps of the property. Whether you are a history buff trying to check out the quarter or the WWII museum, a sports fan in town for an event at the dome or arena, or you just want some great New Orleans food - its all within a very easy walk. Also, thank you for pointing out that even here at the property there is some fun to be had - with so much going on in the neighborhood, it can be easy to forget what we have here on site! If you care to share anything more with the room, please do feel free to let us know. We definitely try to keep up on any and all wear and tear, but if something has slipped through the cracks we definitely want to be able to address it!

We hope you get back to New Orleans soon, and stay with us in 2012! Happy New Years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This was my second time staying at the Country Inn and Suites. The rooms are spacious which is great when traveling with a family of five. The hotel is smoke-free and has a refrigerator & microwave in every room. There is also a hot breakfast each morning which makes it easy when starting your day. The hotel staff is friendly and the location is within walking distance of all major attractions.

Room Tip: Had stayed in a 2 double bed suite with sofabed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Great to hear you could make it back to visit New Orleans. Also, very glad to hear that you stayed with us again. When it comes down to it, that is just about the best endorsement possible, and we appreciate the positive feedback. We know that everyone works hard to be able to take their vacations and we are very serious about providing the best experience we can for your special trips. Hopefully you get to come back again soon! Thank you for taking the time to share.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed here on December 16-17, 2011 with my family. The room was very nice and the area is within walking distance to the French Quarters and Bourbon Street. However, the breakfast was very poor. One day they served eggs and no meat and then the second day they served meat and no eggs. The table where the waffles are prepared looked like a junior high school food fight had taken place. If a continental breakfast is important to you, do not stay at this hotel. Pay the higher rate and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubicon762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

I am glad you enjoyed the room, and we are sorry about the disappointment with breakfast. We have recently re-vamped our breakfast offerings and have been receiving generally very positive feedback. With two rotating hot items (sausage, bacon, eggs, biscuits and gravy, breakfast burritos etc) and the full continental - and additionally make your own waffles - most people tend to find something they love! I will certainly be following up with the kitchen staff to see if there was a reason that there were not two options out on the dates of your stay. From the moment you pull up to the property, we want to give a great experience, and that includes everything from the front desk staff, to the bed, to the waffle you start your day with. Hopefully next time you are in town you can stay with us again and get another taste of what we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This was our second trip to New Orleans and it was better than our first thanks in part to the hotel we stayed at. The rooms are fine for this type of property. The staff is very friendly and accommodating but best of all it's location is away from all the noise but close enough to all the action.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArubaWeddingsbyBonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

We are glad you loved your trip to New Orleans and that we could be a part of it! We are really proud of the property, and I think that pride shines through with our staff having a very upbeat outgoing attitude. As you noted - we are right downtown, just steps from wherever you might be headed, but also just out of earshot of all the noise that comes with being so close to the attractions. The location really is fantastic.

Hopefully you get to come back and visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

When we first arrived, a bellhop took our bags to our room, we were in 231, overlooking the pool, a small room with a kingsize bed. We had a fridge, micro, and a safe, small but nice. It took us about 10 - 15 minutes to walk up to Canal ST.to trolleys and buses, The breakfast buffet is really nice if you want to fill up before a long day!! Around the corner(heading towards canal st, is Chucks Bar, most draft beers are only 2$ pretty cheap if u want to grab a beer before going to hotel!!! Met some great people there!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMOutings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Glad you enjoyed your trip! Sounds like you had a great mix of sight seeing and visiting with the locals! The streetcar and bus lines really do make getting around very easy. Just two blocks out to Canal St, or two blocks to St Charles and you can take the streetcars all over town!

Come back and visit soon and we can point you to some more fun local stuff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The Country Inn & Suites on Magazine Street in New Orleans is a gem! We paid $6 extra per night for a top floor, quiet room, and we got a suite that was a good size, quiet and pleasant. The hotel was formed from an old warehouse and the original bricks remain to add color interest to the property. The original elevator mechanism is displayed in the lobby area.

We had two queen beds in our room, which were very comfortable. Since the room was a suite, we had two TVs and a pull-out bed couch in the "living" room.
Because the building had been a warehouse, there aren't many windows in the hotel, but our bedroom had one from which we looked out over the city.

The included breakfast buffet was very good, with attendants constantly refilling and cleaning the breakfast area. Our stay was only two nights, but on each morning a different egg/meat offering was available, along with cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, breads, juices, etc.

The hotel was kept in tip-top condition, all questions were answered in a friendly and helpful way. It's location allows for an easy walk to the French Quarter and the river. The parking rate is $28/night.

Room Tip: This is a quiet area of New Orleans and we think that all rooms above the first floor would be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing