We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something really special”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Boulangerie

La Boulangerie
Ranked #7 of 26 Bakeries in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Something really special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

A daughter's friend said this was a marvelous place to stop in NOLA for coffee, a bakery with something more. She was so right! The pastries were excellent (my mother-in-law used to bake Napoleans like theirs) and our brunch-time sandwiches were hearty, with very fresh ingredients: oh, those rolls with the roasted chicken, not the sliced from the plastic package variety. The coffee was hot and flavorful.

Our table was next to one with an Australian family...fun to chat, as we are from southern California. But the best part had to be the good service and the suggestions of specific areas within the neighborhood to visit when we asked the staff.

If you want a treat or just need a pleasant break from being a tourist, stop here!

MaryLibrarian

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank marylibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    41
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous eaterie in Uptown at the Riverbend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We loved this small restaurant - the menu was excellent, food superb and prices very reasonable. The wait staff was great, too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HillaryReid87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We enjoyed several things from La Boulangerie. The croissants were awesome and we will definitely be back next trip. They have a wide selection. It was crowded and the service was a bit slow due to people making up their minds. We were second in line and it took about 20 minutes but it was well worth it. After we got in line there were at least 5 or 6 behind us shortly. Parking is a nightmare.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank texasredtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We went in for a snack and found an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

While shopping on Magazine Street, we stepped in for a snack and a short break. It feels as though you have stepped into a French pastry shop! Beautiful pastries, tarts, and breads! We loved the quiche, chocolate almond croissant, and the apple/raspberry tarte! They also had Kings Cakes ready, so we took one home. It had an old style porcelain figure in it! The cake was delicious as well!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lani1476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sweet treats, yummy danish, & great bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We sought out La Boulangerie on Christmas eve morning & they were rocking..not only at the counter but the back was filling take out orders as fast as they could move....all with smiles & kind words on their lips. We wanted one of everything it all looked just wonderful! We picked out danish, filled croissants, orange cranberry muffins, a bagett loaf & a couple of small quiche. The quiche we ate for breakfast that morning & the egg mixture was so fluffy & the crust melted in your mouth. The rest of our bounty we took back to our room & ate it while we opened Christmas gifts the next morning it was all very yummy!!!
If I lived in New Orleans.....I would be a regular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boulangerie also viewed

 

Been to La Boulangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing