We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Beignet on Royal

Cafe Beignet on Royal
Ranked #14 of 63 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: French, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Café Beignet is known for their made-to-order Beignets, a puffy pillow of fried dough dusted with powdered sugar, and café au lait. But there is so much more! Coffees both hot and cold range from simple to flavored, a pastry counter is filled with sweet delights, and hot foods for both breakfast, lunch, dinner and sandwiches can be ordered at the counter. A sister establishment is a courtyard on Bourbon Street with live music all day.
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

waited forever for food. I expected this because of Alton Brown's food network appearance, and I expected the food to be good, the beignets wasn't bad, the crawfish omelet was not good, it was not seasoned and they gave us a half hand full, and a splat of grits, I was pissed because I got it to go, so when I opened it I was mad as hell. The omelet had no flavor, and I'm not a picky person. And they didn't put my extra order of beignets in the bag. I paid 30 bucks for this mess. Burning up thinking about it. I feel when a restaurant gains popularity, they lose their integrity its all about money. Fool me once but not twice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank franden1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    373
    160
    61
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid pralines”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Beignets was decent but not decadent or special. Coffee with chicory is not "real" coffee so be sure it's what you want (not saying its bad). Pralines were repulsive and could not be eaten. Burnt tasting and a foul taste of oily dirt.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great informal cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good beignets and coffee plus tasty sandwiches and reasonably prompt service overcome limited seating and crowds. Very conveniently located on Royal St.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aharra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go here - less of a line and worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've been to Cafe Beignet two years in a row. Last year we hit both Cafe Du Monde and Cafe Beignet because our daughter had not been to NOLA before - so you have to do Du Monde at least once! But the beignets are just as good at Cafe Beignet and the line is much shorter. They have a quaint little courtyard where you can people watch Royal Street. Or if the tables are all full you can walk down the street a bit toward Jackson Square and sit on the stairs of a building - very European feeling. I've seen other people order real food here and it looks good, but we've only had the coffee and beignets.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown
Level Contributor
523 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Busy off te beaten tourist track classic New Orleans Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I hesitate to even post. This place has been a long time favorite of mine after a good friend introduce me to it. It's perfect for breakfast, always busy but seems to be off the typical tourist routes.
It is next to the police station and that Alon may explain why the Beignet's are some of the best I've had
All the classic New Orleans breakfast fare and some great alternatives
Nice easy goon ambiance and a great garden seating area when it's warm enough

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Beignet on Royal also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Beignet on Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing