We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Ray Grill - CLOSED

Sun Ray Grill
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Arts District / Warehouse District
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
152 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a very nice restaurant located outside the warehouse district. As I understand, there are several branches at other locations. Spacious restaurant with high ceiling. Great food, in particular the seafood. Friendly and efficient staff. Less pricey than the restaurants in the French Quarters and still very good food. I had Gulf Seafood and Grits and I can highly recommend it. Will visit again soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LarsRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    28
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Accidentally came across this place on a Sunday. Out walking from our hotel in the French Quarter, very quiet area on weekends. Lovely meals and the waitress was so knowledgeable about the beers and gave us a tasting so we could decide which to order. Good sized portions and good quality meals and service. Will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freedom-seeker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
covington,la
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Late night YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stumbled in on a late Friday night (almost closing) with 8 people. Staff was happy to seat us and provided great service. The food was great. The goat cheese frittiers were amazing. One entree was missed and late to table and wait staff provided my hubby with a free beer. Nice touch. Even at the late hour with the large group we never felt rushed. It was a great choice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank maria_rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food, not too expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice place, with a neat fish tank, and really good food.

We had the spinach artichoke app. (very good), Guadalahara Burger (also very good), and ribs (kind of bland).

It's a little difficult to get there, if you're riding the streetcar, but it's worth the walk. Better than most restaurants in the French Quarter.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Murphy's Law?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

All what could go wrong did go wrong. We were visiting the restaurant with 6 persons of which 3 persons are customers of our company. We did order from the menu and two persons ordered the special of the day. After some appetizers the main courses were brought. Out of the 6 diners 3 were sent back since they were just cold. After 5 minutes back and 2 were OK now but the Tuna diner was too dry to eat. Probably a microwave oven was used? The special was inclomplete, no aspargus. The other 2 meals were lacking the sauces. The waitress was constantly excusing but obviously was smoking. Maybe she was a beginner and nervous. We we 'compensated' by not being charged for the tuna dinner. I really hope that this was just a bad day at the restaurant. There were just 50% of the tables occupied. So not crowded. I have to say that we did have a better experience before at Sun Ray Grill, that was the reason to go there again. Sorry, no next time for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GerardV754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Ray Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing