We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Sun Ray Grill - CLOSED

Sun Ray Grill
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Arts District / Warehouse District
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We ate at this restaurant during our recent stay. We were staying at the Residence Inn which is a couple of blocks away. It looked like something that all of us would like and not too dressy. It was great. My husband had the fish special and it was great. I had the shrimp and grits and it was delicious. My son had the burger and he loved it and the other son had the fish and chips and said it was great. Very nice meal and fine service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momof3boysinAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    28
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxed, friendly, and delicious!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We ate here a couple of times during our most recent visit to NOLA, at a friend's suggestion. We had our young child with us, so options were a little limited. This location was around the corner from our hotel (Hampton Inn Convention Center), and convenient. We loved our food both nights we went - grilled fish tacos, grilled Mahi Mahi, shrimp and grits, and blackened drum. All entrees delicious and well prepared - served at the correct temperature by very friendly staff. Drinks were well made (although the margarita was a little "generic" tasting - do the lemon drop instead, it tasted like the juice was freshly squeezed...). Overall, will definitely go back when in town! Get the brownie a la mode, it's great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexdavit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKeesport, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fusion yummy and open for new things”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I had a little birthday gathering here. We are belly dancers so the Restaurant let us do a little performance. Not only were the owners awesome the staff was great too. The food was great too. The mimosa I had was made with fresh squeezed oj.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, and I've never been inside--they deliver”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After a tiring travel day and a visit to the WWII museum with my WWII vintage aunt, we wanted to eat someplace close to our hotel. The desk clerk recommended Sun Ray Grill, so we looked at the menu online and discovered they deliver!! We ordered a variety of entrees and appetizers for four, and everything arrived hot at our door in about half an hour, as promised. It was so delicious that we ordered from them again the next night! Everything was tasty and well-presented, even though it was in styrofoam boxes. We are planning to actually visit this restaurant next time we are in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mobile314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went to Sun Ray Grill last night and the food was excellent. We had the artichoke and spinach dip as an appetizer and my "food fussy" spouse said it might be the best he has ever had. He also had the prime rib special and raved about how well seasoned the meat was. I had the drum tacos and they were also very good with spot on sauce. The only thing that was average was the guacamole that came with the tacos. We are from Houston though and it might be that we are used to a spicier guacamole. The service was good and the manager stopped by the table twice to check and make sure we were enjoying our meal. When my husband raved about his meal and said we would be back, since we are in town for a convention, the manager said he would comp a round of drinks for the table on our next visit. Just a perfect meal close to the convention center and our hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Greta513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Ray Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing