We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big disappointment”
Review of Coop's Place

Coop's Place
Ranked #155 of 1,946 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Seriously, DON'T EAT HERE. The food is terrible and overpriced, you have to share tables, and the staff is rude. We'd heard that this was a great place for jambalaya, but things must have gone downhill from what they used to be. My jambalaya was unrecognizable and flavorless; it looked and tasted like some kind of Chef Boyardee that had been heated and reheated for several days. The place did have a fun vibe and seemed like a good drinking spot; I've also been told that the staff's rudeness is purposeful shtick, but I couldn't tell. Unless you're just looking to drink, this is one to avoid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank madgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,048
    899
    274
    139
    197
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Jambalaya in town!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

No joke. Try it other places, and then try it here. You will be blown away. Wait staff was just so/so. Nothing to write home about (but it seems like that is common in nola) Just like everywhere else, you have to wait in line to get in, there is no putting your name on a list. Just eat the Jambalaya, and you will be happy you waited!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emmamegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken I've ever had!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This joint is such a joy, we ate here twice in our short time in New Orleans. The staff is part of the fun so sit at the bar and engage or at least observe. Don't go here for regular restaurant service, go for the food and the drink. The prices are great for the value of the meal. The fried chicken was honest to goodness, the best I've ever had. So tender, lightly breaded and nicely seasoned. I love having a choice of hot sauces for my meal too. The coleslaw is one of the top three in my life and the rabbit and sausage jambalaya was so delicious. You will eat well here. But if you need impeccable service and well attended bathrooms well.....some of the best food in New Orleans is never in those establishments. Yes, I've tried those too. Don't miss Coop's place. I know I won't on my next trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gopher0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
““ABSOLUTELY GROSS!!!””
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place is nasty....please tell me you did not see the back of the establishment where the kitchen and bathrooms are located and still continue to eat here. I think this place thinks it's "cool" and "hipster" well I have news for them, it’s just plain "Nasty." The food is nothing to write home about. Anyone can cook shrimp and rice and dump and ton of old bay and tomato sauce on it and call it shrimp creole. The waiters need to find a new gig if they are so unhappy. The "gutter punks" outside are really what makes this place top notch. There is nothing I like more while eating dinner than watch a bunch of kids outside beg for money and bother poor tourists so they can get their next fix and hang with their friends rather than just go home to mommy and daddy....but no that would not be "punk rock." Not my idea of a nice place to eat by any standards....not really sure what anyone else one this thread is referring to. With so many restaurants in NOLA to choose from there is no way I would ever look twice at this place....that's for sure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“If you are interested in a local delight this is it!!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This place should be number one! It is a kind of whole in the wall...but wow! Not only is the menu origional, but the food is amazing! I loved the rabbit jumbalaya as well as the duck quesadilla and crab stuffed jalapenos. The rest of the group enjoyed the ettoffe and gumbo. Each of the meals was extremely well seasoned, and probably the cheapest place we ate in the quarter! Absolutely loved it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlt110719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coop's Place also viewed

 

Been to Coop's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing