We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great martinis and English pub atmosphere”
Review of The Bombay Club

The Bombay Club
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bombay Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #146 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, French, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Dauphine St.
Description: Take a break from the hustle and bustle of the Vieux Carré at The Bombay Club with one of over 50 unique cocktails. Set back from the entrance of the Prince Conti Hotel, our martini bar & restaurant is the perfect venue to relax and enjoy live entertainment after a busy day in the French Quarter. Sample European-inspired New Louisiana dishes from Executive Chef Phillip Todd, sip on a refreshing cocktail from Head Bartender Blake Kaiser, and listen to the soothing jazz of popular local artists nightly.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great martinis and English pub atmosphere”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It has been a while since I have been here, and the atmosphere and the drinks were just as I remembered. It is a nice respite from the rest of the bar choices down the block on Bourbon Street. The food when we came back for dinner was not as memorable, however, to be fair, they were extremely short-handed that evening. That said, there's nothing like sitting in a big comfy chair sipping a martini listening to music.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ems1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    119
    40
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is everything”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Not wanting to fight the crowds and youngsters found on Bourbon Street we were so happy to have had this place pointed out to us. Felt like you were in a different place with out the hustle and bustle and sleaze found on Bourbon street. Much enjoyed the atmosphere and they make a nice cosmopolitan. Didn't try any food - just wanted to find a nice relaxing place to get away from all the crowds found outside. Special hour drinks are a definite plus!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcmc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We ate here on Christmas day, and had a really excellent meal. We started with cocktails at the bar which were excellent if rather lethal. Initially, we were seated towards the back of the restaurant but requested a booth and were moved before our first course arrived. If you are going to eat here as a two, it is worth requesting one of the curtained booths as the theatre of it all is magical. The room at the back is less attractive so worth avoiding if you can. The food was excellent and the staff very professional and courteous without being overbearing. Highly recommends when in NOLA and want slightly calmer meal before the carnage of Bourbon. Pricey, but worth every penny.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CB_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really nothing special unless you love martinis”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This place seemed to be best known for its extensive martini menu. Otherwise, service was friendly but disorganized and slow, food good but not memorable, details lacking. Bread was dry and stale, place settings not complete, not enough menus. We had a good meal overall, but not something we'll remember for long.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcccward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at The Bombay Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
rcccward, we are very sorry that this was your experience with us. We are taking your comments very seriously and they will be addressed. Our team is working together to ensure better guest experience.

The Bombay Club Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

After all of the excellent reviews we were expecting more. The restaurant was very dark and looked in need of a makeover but we are really more about the food. My husband did enjoy the gumbo and my salad was pretty good. However the blackened pork chop ordered medium came rare, rubbery and tough. The seasoning for the chop however was good. The Cornish game hen was cooked well but had very little of the promised sauce and therefore was a disappointing dish. It came with rather pedestrian mashed potatoes. The oyster stuffing was overly salted and the seasonings were just not very well balanced. I have to say it was alot of food for one person! The check was pricey which we wouldn't have minded if the food was worth it. Perhaps we just ordered the wrong items.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rg3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at The Bombay Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are very sorry that this was your experience with us. We are taking your comments very seriously and they will be addressed.

The Bombay Club Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bombay Club also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to The Bombay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing