We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do but not perfect”

Cafe Du Monde Riverwalk Marketplace
Ranked #1 of 77 Coffee & Tea in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: French, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A must do but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

On my first trip to NOLA, I knew this was a required stop. Made our way there in the pouring rain and waited for 15 mins in line. Line moved quickly and before we knew it we were seated at a dirty table and a surly waitress took our order. Only beignets and chicory coffee. That's it. Nothing else. And don't even think about asking for bacon or sausage. The single order arrived quickly with 3 slightly over cooked beignets and the coffee. Mounds of powdered sugar as expected. Food was fine but, I know I risk being shot for saying this, the beignets are better at Huey's in Savannah. Coffee was great and we paid the $7.75 and were on our way. Been there...done that.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank morganinaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    366
    156
    48
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Saturday morning and the place was crowded. We found a dirty table and sat down. We sat for 10 minutes before someone came and cleaned the table. We ordered a noticed that the staff were all sitting and chatting with each other rather than working. Many were texting on their phones. The food was great but service was horrible. Go elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank IllinoisJohn60085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful beignets and coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Everyone need to go here if you're in New Orleans. Across from Jackson Square, the perfect place to watch the hustle and bustle of the city, and to hear the street musicians.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you need the fix.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This location is in the Riverwalk Marketplace and lacks any atmosphere or charm of the French Quarter location. That being said I got my Cafe Du Monde Coffee and beignets almost imediately and was able to sit and relax in a relatively calm and quiet setting. If you want the coffee and beignets more than the tourist experience go here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“How to Visit Cafe du Monde”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you go to New Orleans Cafe du Monde (Coffee World) is a nice place to experience for tourists. I think of the coffee and the beignets (donuts), the coffee is totally worth it. Remember, its all about the experience.

First know that other places serve beignets (pronounced "been yay") but the original Café du Monde is near the waterfront at the corner of St Ann and Decatur St. There are also other locations but this one is where everyone speaks of. When you enter, you have to spy out a table because its first come, first serve, and seat yourself. Even if your table isn't clean SIT down right away or you will be standing for quite some time. Don't wear black either because the idea is to get powdered sugar all over you and your guests. At least that's what I'm told.

The beignets are basically hot yeast cakes with powdered sugar piled in heaps. The powdery white sugar invades everything around you. The coffee. hot chocolate or your drink of choice helps to wash it all down. Sitting near the water is another nice addition. The seagulls and birds stroll through your tables hoping for a fidling or two. Please don't feed the birds since it will encourage them more.

Overall, I would suggest getting down to the Café du Monde after a long days walk. It will help take the load off your feet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lartoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Du Monde Riverwalk Marketplace also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Du Monde Riverwalk Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing