We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Taste of local flavor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Du Monde Riverwalk Marketplace

Cafe Du Monde Riverwalk Marketplace
Ranked #1 of 77 Coffee & Tea in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: French, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Taste of local flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

When in New Orleans you must stop by the Cafe Du Monde for freshly made hot Begniets. They open around 7:00 am and you can eat in or get a bag to go. You get three in a bag which is more than enough for two people unless you are a sugarholic. Very close to the river and to area attractions and the coffe is hot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    357
    151
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better when slower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited twice; once was slow and relaxed, once was crowded and hectic. The food was good both times, and not expensive for such a famous location.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
236 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Went here for the beignets, we weren't disappointed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

First time having beignets, I really liked them. Nice patio seating outside overlooking the Mississippi. The staff was friendly and helpful, even bringing out wet paper towels for us to clean up with. I'd return for more beignets, I'd probably go to the original location in the French Quarter for the people watching.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ApoloniaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“The only place to get Beignets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

OMG! I must go here everytime I am out. This place has the best Beignets ever. You get to people watch and listen to great music (there is a guy who sings and plays the trumpet). They stay open 24 hours.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravlingTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

You can see them make them if you go around back- past the "to go" line. Powder sugar heaven! Try and go off peak hours for a more relaxing experience or get them "to go".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Concierge2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Du Monde Riverwalk Marketplace also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Du Monde Riverwalk Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing