We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great jazz”

Snug Harbor Jazz Bistro
Ranked #310 of 1,946 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, French, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great jazz”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

If you want to experience real New Orleans style jazz, this is the place. We went on a Wednesday night and saw the Uptown Jazz Orchestra, led by Delfeayo Marsalis. It was a great show, the 14 piece orchestra was fantastic and we loved their sense of humor. We stayed for dinner afterward. The food was good and they piped the orchestra (which had a 10:00 show) into the restaurant. The only negative I would give relates to the server we had, sometimes he was difficult to find...Even so, you should go.

Helpful?
Thank BayVillageMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    127
    56
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were not expecting too much, as we really came for the show later, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The salmon was wonderful and the baked potato was indeed spectacular.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Souersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, great jazz”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went to Snug Harbor on the advice of friends who live and have played in NOLA. The restaurant and music area were handicap friendly and the restaurant was very accommodating. We were glad to have found a no smoking place too. It was pretty noisy, but it was a Friday night. The music place was a bit tight, but that added to the excitement of the music I think. It was really nice to have only a short walk from the table to the music.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smlnmyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great entertainment and good food too”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited Snug Harbor on recommendation from our hotel. Good food, great value and relaxed and friendly service. We ate before the 8:00 show by the Uptown Jazz Orchestra, a 15-piece band playing "swing-era" standards along with some new numbers - excellent stuff, all in all our most memorable evening in New Orleans.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SussexVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stick around for dinner!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Frenchman St is not the best foodie zone, but if you're there before or after a show, this is a pretty good option. The gumbo seemed free of obvious shortcuts, with a solid roux base, better than average sausage and not overlooked chicken and shrimp. The BBQ shrimp were way above average,with a zesty but not overwhelming sauce with a hint of rosemary. You could probably find a better burger, somewhere, but it would take some looking. Staff was attentive, making sure to warn us they were firing up another batch of gumbo, so might take a bit more time. Meh wines but much better beer offerings (Cajun and fine wine don't really see eye to eye anyway,if you ask me). Good food at a reasonable price. Seemed pretty slammed right before the early show on a Friday.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drclaw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snug Harbor Jazz Bistro also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Snug Harbor Jazz Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing