We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food - Great Service”
Review of Parasol's

Parasol's
Ranked #270 of 2,019 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Born in 1952, in the Irish Channel neighborhood, Parasol's is a New Orleans tradition that is known as THE place to go for roast beef po boys, and a huge St. Patricks Day block party. We are a neighborhood bar to the world, where everyone is welcome and treated like an old friend. Our kitchen is dedicated to taking old school New Orleans food to a new level of flavor and quality. Belly up to the old Irish bar and enjoy a pint of Guiness or wander upstairs to our smoke free dining room. You can indulge in our delicious food either way. Parasol's is a throw back to a simpler time when the social life of the neighborhood centered around the corner bar. A place where the stuff of life is discussed, celebrated and even mourned. At Parasol's it's all about you !
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were out walking the garden district and used the tripadvisor city guide app to find lunch. We selected Parasol's due to the positive reviews and because we asked one of the locals we met on the street who also highly recommended it. The Firecracker shrimp Po Boy was awesome. The staff were extremely friendly and polite. We were in New Orleans for four days and had lots of great meals but the lunch we had there was simply the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 300_Dives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 309 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The roast beef po-boy had no flavor and the meat was tuff. The smoke from the bar was overwhelming. We have been eating at parasol since the late 70's. I don't think we will go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank babs352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Roast Beef Po'boy is the best roast beef sandwich I have ever had. Aside from great food, the workers and other guests were very friendly and welcoming. The bar keeps a nice selection of whiskey.

We enjoyed talking with John, the owner, Billy, the bar keep, and several 'regulars' at the joint. This is a place not to be missed!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flanola, Owner at Parasol's, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thanks for the kind words. This just motivates us to stay on point.

Thanks,
John and Thea Hogan
Owners, Parasol's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great food! Unfortunately, we waited until our last day to stop by. Had two awesome po'boys - firecracker shrimp and the roast beef. Had them yesterday and my mouth just started watering thinking about them. The owner was hangin out and came over and talk to us for a bit - nice place and ill definitely go back. There are a lot of good places to eat in New Orleans - this one was great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anitola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flanola, Owner at Parasol's, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review us and thanks for the kind words. It motivates all of us to keep working hard to satisfy our valuable customers.

John and Thea Hogan
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had to go here after watching Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives. OK, so there were six of us and everyone loved their Po Boys, especially the finger-licking, messy Roast Beef, but if there are any vegetarians who have no interest in meat and seafood sandwiches, I can state emphatically the veggie burger on a bun was as good a sandwich as I've ever eaten. And the french fries and onion rings were out of this world. The service was slow, but they were apologetic, citing a back-up on this particular day. The wait, however, was well worth it. It is also worth the street car or bus ride into the Garden District. Stop off at Lafayette Cemetery on your scenic walk into the Irish Channel district a few blocks away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flanola, Owner at Parasol's, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review us and thanks for the kind words. Customers like you motivate us to stay sharp. Sorry about the wait time, but we make everything to order and that can slow us when busy.

Thanks,
John and Thea Hogan
Owners, Parasol's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parasol's also viewed

 

Been to Parasol's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing