We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Food in the Warehouse disctrict”
Review of Tommy's Cuisine

Tommy's Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Tommy's Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #212 of 1,955 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Tommy’s knows how to serve a meal with the quintessential New Orleans reverence for fine ingredients and artful combinations. At Tommy’s Cuisine, Creole Italian comes to life with entrees like roasted Duck Tchoupitoulas and Crabmeat Sardou and appetizers ranging from baked oysters to escargots simmered in vermouth.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
420 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food in the Warehouse disctrict”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I came here for private event last week and the service was exceptional! Usually when you have a private event, they only give you one or two waiters and the service isn't that great. I felt at this place we were waited on hand and foot. They brought out a sampler of the appetizers that everyone in the group went to town on. I would highly recommend their grilled oysters and mussels!

Also, they have an extensive menu to choose from and the portions like most Italian restaurants are huge and I doubt that most people can finish them. The dessert was also great.

Bottom line is that this is a great place for dinner, and if you are looking for a venue for a private event, I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    114
    44
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy in New Orleans”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

First time in New Orleans and this was a real Gem. Was suggested by a friend to be great and we were not disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great spot, great wine, great service.”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Tommy's is one of the friendliest places in the new Warehouse District. A great place for a drink or a meal. Great wine list and knowledgeable staff. Deanna Na James will make your evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“***as good as it gets in New Orleans**”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was our 3rd time to eat here and each time.... it has been a most pleasing experience! We had a couple of LSU grads in for the TX A&M game, and they had not been to NO for a few years and wanted to know if we had found any new places to dine? So, rather than go into the French Quarter we decide to take them to Tommy's! From the service to the wine selection.....it could not have been better!

A couple bottles of Willamette Pinot and a few selections from the various fish entre's...made for a great night of fun and easy conversation! The Tiramisu chocolate dessert is so rich it can be shared by all 4!! And all the waiters are older and real Pro's. It's just outside the Quarter and easy walking! PS: After a meal like this you will need the walk...to lighten the load!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bayouexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCADIA, CA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food Away From New Orleans Hype!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

After having many over-rated, over-hyped, over-priced meals in famous restaurants in New Orleans it was a pleasure to find one that was relatively quiet, a bit off the beaten path and capable of serving excellent food without the over-blown hoopla that attends most New Orleans restaurants. This fine, richly decorated restaurant served up excellent food which was very well prepared, nicely seasoned (not over-peppered like most New Orleans selections), well presented and very fairly priced. Located in the now-trendy Warehouse District and (thankfully) about a mile away from the noisy and touristy French Quarter, this restaurant and bar were truly a pleasant find; so go, in fact, that after dining there on the first night of our stay we elected to go back for a second dinner the next night with equally pleasing results. The food style is mostly an Italian take on New Orleans favorites, with most of the specials being fish-based. The Gumbo, which we ordered immediately on arrival because it was a cold, rainy night, proved to be the best I had ever had, the fish dishes excellent, the sweetbread appetizer excellent. The restaurant has a widely varied wine list, with a few selections in almost every category; I found the wine prices, like the food prices, to be very fair. The wait-staff was very friendly, very professional and very helpful, completely devoid of the "attitude" I have been annoyed by in most NO restaurants. In summary, this is a place that I definitely will return to every time I happen to be in New Orleans.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PDEYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Tommy's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing