We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice italian restaurant”
Review of Tommy's Cuisine

Tommy's Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Tommy's Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #223 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Tommy’s knows how to serve a meal with the quintessential New Orleans reverence for fine ingredients and artful combinations. At Tommy’s Cuisine, Creole Italian comes to life with entrees like roasted Duck Tchoupitoulas and Crabmeat Sardou and appetizers ranging from baked oysters to escargots simmered in vermouth.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Very nice italian restaurant”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

we went on a sunday night and it seemed to be a lot of locals who come regularly. the food was excellent. i had a mix of the oyster appetizers and the shrimp remoulade which were both very good. we also had the fish special which was excellent. the service was very attentive. there are no surprises on the menu but it was all well prepared. it is located in the warehouse/arts district and the atmosphere is very nice. we ate in the front room which was very cozy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VacaAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    114
    44
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice ambiance in historic building”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Loved the appetizers & soup. Not noisy, so a relaxing evening with well prepared food nice cocktail or wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leen70117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I went to Tommy's this past weekend. They only recently begun taking reservations.
My wife had the Veal Piccata and I had the Crabmeat Au Gratin. Both dishes were prepared in a traditional manner. No nouvelle cuisine here. However, my wife and I agreed that the veal was perfectly prepared. The au gratin was one of the best that I've ever had. Service is good and there is an adequate selection of wines at reasonable prices. We both travel a lot. Tommy's reminds us of a traditional Italian restaurant in New York.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank houston1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quiet place for dinner”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent service and high-end local cuisine and good friends made this a wonderful venue for a slow-paced dinner after a hectic meeting day. Sergio was an excellent waiter!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cuisine!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I went for Easter Sunday Dinner. It's a cozy atmosphere, and very quaint. Waiter was very attentive and highly recommend we try the Oysters, he suggested all three, Oysters Tommy, Oysters Bieniville and Oysters Rockefeller. Oyster Tommy was my favorite along with Beinville. Not so much for the Rockefeller. For our entree he recommended the Veal Picatta which was in a lemon butter with Lump Crabmeat and Capers!! It's was amazing and melted in your mouth!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaCherieAmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Tommy's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing