We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste you time or money!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estrella Steak, Lobster & Seafood House

Estrella Steak, Lobster & Seafood House
Ranked #531 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Estrella Steak and Lobster House is located in the heart of the French Quarter at 237 Decatur Street. Featuring authentic creole dishes, our menu will have you visiting again and again. Formerly Star Steak and Lobster. 237 Decatur Street, NOLA (504) 296-3005
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste you time or money!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husbands dinner was terrible! He ordered the filet medium and it came raw and cold!!! Smothered in some nasty tasting broth that contained 3 different colors and running on the plate! We sent it back and I do believe it was microwaved and smothered with more nasty sauce. It was about 5 or 6 and there were no baked potatoes available? What? This is prime dinner time people!!! So he ordered the whipped potatoes and they were obviously old! The lobster was cold! This was a fifty dollar plate! I would have paid no more than 20 at best for this meal.
Seriously there are so many other restaurants available! Don't let groupon sway you with the deal! Not worth it! The ambiance was absolutely horrible and dirty!!!! I used better silver wear at Coney Island. Will never go there again ever!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mari124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    141
    47
    50
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lobster tails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We get 2 lobster tail dinners every time we are in New Olreans. This time they were out of the tail and I got whole lobster. It got cold too quickly and wasn't nearly as good as the lobster tails. Everyone here is so friendly and nice. Joey Star is only there on Fri and Sat. He is such a hoot to talk to. Mr. Bobby was fantastic and so friend and in formative and helpful. Go for the 2 lobster tails instead of the whole lobster, though. One of us got a prime rib and it filled the entire plate. She wasn't able to eat more than a third of it. It was huge. Salads are great, too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank momgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
291 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner, little noisy but hey...it's N'Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Recommend by the concierge at a local hotel...very happy with her suggestion. Restaurant had typical N'Orleans ambiance...little on the casual side and a little loud.

Food was excellent, we had a filet mignon (superb) and the catfish house special...excellent!

A great experience, we recommend it but be patient with the noise level, service could have been a little better but again...it's the "Big Easy".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jax14fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Prime Rib”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The place is quaint service is grand the live 1 man entertainer was not to bold but bold enough,
The Prime rib was cooked perfectly.
My friend got the BQ Shrimp she loved it

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Island, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food in the French Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Bought a groupon since we were headed to New Orleans. We got there just after the place opened at 4:00pm. The place is small but quaint. The garlic Parmesan bread was amazing. The prime rib was a little fatty but overall really good. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting.

Helpful?
Thank Tonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estrella Steak, Lobster & Seafood House also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Estrella Steak, Lobster & Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing