We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Charles Tavern

St. Charles Tavern
Ranked #417 of 1,932 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Below Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Open 24 hours and pretty typical interior. Waitstaff friendly enough but food mediocre. Visited twice and had a so-so cobb salad and a huge but bland burger

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrownDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    90
    35
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I eat here every time I am in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is always great and always open. It is a locals spot frequented by police officers, EMT, and Firefighters at all hours of the day and conversation is always interesting. I cannot help but get a Muffuletta and an Abita Amber every single time. This place is great for a drunken late night bite to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great good! Great service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

One of our favorite places to eat in NOLA. It was convenient to our hotel and had great reviews. We sat down and got served right away. The waitress cracked me up. High Pitched voice reminded me of the one chick from Will And Grace. She talked a lot and fast... I liked that! She recommended the jambalaya so, that's what I had. It was delicious and had heat to go with! Hubby had cheeseburger thinking he was safe from the heat. He was wrong. Even the burger has heat! Lol! We had a pitcher of Bud Light and after drinking the Abita Amber, it was like water. Only complaint was the beer! The old tavern feel and old worn wood tables are the things atmosphere is made of. Will definitely return on a trip to NOLA!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christy8_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classic New Orleans Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stopped in here to get a quick bite to eat. Had always been curious because I passed by it many times. It feels like a comfy living room inside, I drank a couple beers and ended up chatting with the server for about history and all sorts of interesting things. The food was good and the atmosphere and service were top notch. I would recommend this place if you need to grab a quick casual bite to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nolatourguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The atmosphere is tavern and the food is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were going to go to the irish house but they were closed. We ate here and had the best breakfast ever. Had crab cake benedict and the crab cake and eggs were perfect. The hollandaise sauce was the best. Would go out of my way to eat breakfast here again. The service was supurb as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Themenace4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Charles Tavern also viewed

 

Been to St. Charles Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing