We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great taste...great service...and great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Fish Grill

Red Fish Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Iberville Street
Transit: Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.
Description: Ralph Brennan's award winning casual New Orleans seafood restaurant and oyster bar on Bourbon Street. (Voted seafood restaurant 4 years, best oyster po-boy 2010 & 2011). Don't miss Red Fish Grill restaurant's heavenly BBQ Oysters, signature Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Grilled Redfish and Double Chocolate Bread Pudding. Casual and fun (a sea of metal fish in neon swim overhead bright, hand painted tables). Open for lunch and dinner 7 days with a lively cocktail and oyster bar going from 11 AM - 11 PM, the perfect place to ease into New Orleans' laid back French Quarter lifestyle or tell it goodbye until next time.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great taste...great service...and great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Best piece of advice...d/load "Open Table" and make your guaranteed reservation for a minimal wait! It was crowded, but with that reservation, we only waited 10 minutes for our table. The food was yummy and beautifully served (if you don't mind having the entire fish or shrimp staring at you)!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,534
    1,004
    363
    117
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers AR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Multiple award winning dishes, of which we tried several- we were NOT disappointed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We were recommended this restaurant by a local and stopped in for a late lunch (they stop serving lunch at 3 & serve dinner at 5). We entered a charming, open dining room (many diners are quite small and chopped up). We were seated by a welcoming hostess and Campbell was our waiter. He offered many suggestions and described all the entrees in detail. We tried the ward winning gumbo and BBQ oysters and shrimp & blackened avocado po boy. Then we had a well priced lunch special consisting of 2 courses with several choices. They also offer $1 martinis or bloody marys with entree purchase. We then finished our wonderful meal with he best (award winning) double chocolate bread pudding I've ever had. If you are in NOLA be sure to stop in at redfish grill. We will be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wilsonslovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“God food and a mistake corrected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had a very god dinner here. It certainly is mostly seafood, hence the name. I am not a big seafood fan and I had the chicken. It was one of the best tasting chicken dishes ever. Just a little bit of a kick. My husband had fish and loved it. He had ordered appetizer which never came. When he asked our waiter, he was very sorry and apologetic. They wound up bringing it just as our dinner arrived. He sent it back as he didn't want it at that point. They made up for it by comping our dessert, which was the chocolate bread pudding................this is a must if you love chocolate, and even if you don't. All in all a good place. I would go again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jvenneberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesboro
Level Contributor
163 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very big tourist trap.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Located right on Bourbon Street expect high prices and a loud atmosphere. If that's what you are looking for go for it. The smoked redfish is great but for $30, I know may places to get just as good for much less. Definately not a place locals would go due to expence and portion sizes.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bnatigcomman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, WI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood at the Red Fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Red Fish Grill has an amazing location on Bourbon St and it also has a really cool vibe. The staff are very helpful and nice. The food is amazing! I had the Mesquite Mahi Mahi and it was amazing. The two things to not miss are the BBQ Oysters (AMAZING!) and the chocolate bread pudding. Our company took 13 people to dinner and we were all blown away by the great food. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sage_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Red Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing