We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pere Antoine Restaurant

Pere Antoine Restaurant
Ranked #307 of 1,920 Restaurants in New Orleans
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good family place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Went here with three boys 13-10-&7. They had a kids menu but mine ordered breakfast off the adult menu. Two were very happy with omlets both quality and quantity.(breakfast served all day) My blackened catfish was very good. I would recommend this place for a family with kids in the quarter.

Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    333
    167
    108
    116
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a restaurant for dinner on our way up to Bourbon street. Stopped by and checked out the menu posted. We were looking for a reasonably priced dinner. We decided to give it a try. Husband had the New Orleans sampler. He was pleased with all components of the meal, including the bread pudding which was included with the sampler. I had the Monday special of Red Beans & Rice with Southern Fried chicken. It was a huge piece of boneless, battered fried chicken, very juicy and tender. Service was prompt and server pleasant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tiny and Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazingly Innovative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Pere Antoine was the first restaurant that I ever visited in New Orleans during my recent stay in the French Quarter. It may have been by both luck or fate, but I fell in love as soon as I walked in. Tucked a little ways away from Bourbon Street, Pere Antoine has a quaint feeling, and beautiful atmosphere.

The first time that I was there, I ordered the "Gumbolaya," which was basically a hybrid of Gumbo and Jambalaya, two dishes that New Orleans is best known for. It was PERFECT! I came into the restaurant sick, but after that dish, felt as though I immediately began to recover. The servers that I had were also quite friendly and chatty, and came to talk to me during my visit. Although my second visit was during a particularly busy evening (it took 20 minutes for me to get my bowl of Gumbolaya), the quality of the food was still great. My third and final visit was amazing as well. Didn't have an issue with the wait then! In conclusion, I feel as though everyone should visit Pere Antoine for the Gumbolaya alone. That is perfection in a dish!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
270 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“food issues”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

several of us went there for a dinner. The place seems short of staff - even getting seated took a while. The food finally came; several side dishes were nearly forgotten and had to be asked. The food were fine in taste. But in the mid of the night, two of us had severe stomach issues (we had completely different dishes). Something in this place was not right. This is also one of the many places in this town that you can only use a max of two credit cards to pay the entire table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sun20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious, flavorful, and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We found the restaurant by accident and were were not disappointed. The three of us shared the shrimp salad over a Ceasar salad (lightly blackened... om nom nom) and the Pasta Tchapatolous (I think?) The atmosphere was very authentic, the coffee was strong, and we left happy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pere Antoine Restaurant also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Pere Antoine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing