We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the trip”
Review of Palace Cafe

Palace Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Palace Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Chartres Street
Transit: Easily accessible by the Saint Charles Streetcar & the Canal Street car.
Description: For two decades Palace Cafe has been serving award-winning, contemporary Creole cuisine in the historic Werlein Music building. Located downtown, at the entrance to the French Quarter, this Dickie Brennan restaurant is popular with visitors & locals alike.
Maitland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Enjoyed the turtle soup, crab legs bordelaise, shrimp romulade and crab cheesecake. The amount of crab legs was impressive and although somewhat messy to eat they were delicious. The turtle soup and shrimp were very good but my favorite was the crab cheesecake. Although the name is a bit of a misnomer it is more like a crab quiche, it was truly fanastic especially when topped with the mushroom sauce.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SRIZZO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,200
    728
    285
    113
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good brunch with jazz music”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The place is beautifuly decorated and the service was very good. We went for brunch and loved the food. They had a band playing jazz music. We went back at night just for desert and it was very busy. I didn't love the desert but I would go back for brunch!

Helpful?
Thank Marleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good choice on Canal Street”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

A lovely restaurant in the Brennan Family. Had the spinach salad with candied bacon which was really good. Went back the next day and had the andouille encrusted fish which was delicious. My friend had the Cochin de lair pot pie which was also very good.

Helpful?
Thank artnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Palace”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just had an early dinner at the Palace Cafe, an beautiful old NOLA landmark setting. We got there just before they begin dinner service so we had a 20 minute wait for a table. Service was very good. Our waiter Eric was knowledgeable and helpful. The food was delicious. The place is popular so either arrive early or make a reservation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ric_and_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“nice bar and great service in the French Quarter”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had dinner on a Friday evening and enjoyed the atmosphere. The waiters were extremely pleasant and well trained. They could answer all our questions regarding the menu and selection of meals. I recommend their praline mousse for dessert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeroniqueFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Cafe also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Palace Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing