We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mulate's New Orleans

Mulate's New Orleans
Ranked #188 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Mulate's is a great place. The food and service was excellent. I had catfish nuggets and alligator. The food was delicious. The facility was large and spacious. I liked the decor. You know how we roll -- we closed the place down on a Wednesday but it was easy to do because it was a good place with good food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GetawayGirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    665
    346
    124
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Steam Table Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The food has all been cooked and put in steam tables. Our food arrived in under five minutes for complex dishes. We did not finish the meals. The meals were warm and salty, not hot and tasty. And expensive. The music was only fair.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanker489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice New Orleans Flare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Service was a bit slow at first but we have a good dinner. Good value for the food, good way to enjoy a taste of New Orleans

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RovertDrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere Including Live Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was the first restaurant we went to in New Orleans. It was close to the convention center. It was a fun, down home atmosphere and the waitstaff was very friendly. They had a band of old musicians playing and we even got up and danced a song or two before it was over. We enjoyed the food but the music is what was really memorable. The place is not fancy, but it's fun.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iam_intrigued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls., MN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Cajun food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The food was really good. I thought they had the best jambalaya, and also excellent bread pudding. We didn't get to hear any bands since we ate earlier. I think it would be worth it to be there when the bands were playing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulate's New Orleans also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Mulate's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing