We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a gem”
Review of Mr. B's Bistro

Mr. B's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr. B's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 1,963 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Mr. B's Bistro, (since 1979) owned by Cindy Brennan of the famous Brennan Restaurant Family, is located in the heart of the French Quarter. Signature dishes include Mr. B's famous Barbequed Shrimp, Gumbo Ya Ya, and Bread Pudding with Irish Whiskey Sauce. $1.50 martinis and bloody marys each weekday during lunch.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Found a gem”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled into this restaurant by chance while walking down Royal Street. Everything was spot on. Food, ambience, service levels. This restaurant excelled in all categories. A must visit when staying in "Nawlins".

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 511GaryK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,722
    1,098
    373
    131
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best BBQ shrimp in New Orleans”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our second trip to New Orleans and both times we have included Mr. B's Bistro on our restaurant choices. I have had the BBQ shrimp in other restaurants in the city, but by far this beats the others. The portion is very generous and served with a loaf of French bread so you can get every last drop of sauce in the dish.

Both times have been for lunch and it is usually a mix of business people and tourists. It has been full but we have never experienced a wait. The staff is very attentive and quick with the service. Upon entering the restaurant, you may think that it is a bit formal, but it is not. There wasn't a dress code but I probably wouldn't go in flipflops and shorts.

In addition to the BBQ shrimp, the gumbo is the best as well with just the right consistency and spices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berkshiretraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My Go-To restaurant in New Orleans.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was recently in New Orleans for a convention and my first meal that evening was at Mr. B's Bistro. You can't go wrong and it's great New Orleans cuisine. The BBQ shrimp is the best I have ever had at a restaurant . The Gumbo ya ya is rich with a dark roux and delicious. I was alone so I sat at the bar. Service was excellent and I met awesome people while eating. It was a great meal and very pleasant evening. The menu is offers a variety of meat, poultry and seafood. I tend to stick to my favorite New Orleans dishes while visiting that I can't get at home. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Londabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I decided to go to Mr. B's based on reviews of this restaurant by two friends. It was easy walking distance to my hotel and had the same claim to the best BBQ Shrimp as the restaurant I had been to the night before. It was a Tuesday night and by the time I arrived at a little after 7, there was a 30 minute wait for a table. Luckily, they serve dinner at the bar, which is my favorite place to eat when I am traveling alone.

I was tempted to try the BBQ shrimp, but found myself debating between the Honey-Ginger Glazed Pork Chop and the Bacon Wrapped Shrimp and Grits. I asked the bartender which one he would recommend and based on the fact I had only tried Shrimp and Grits once before, he recommended that dish. I also ordered the Garlic Truffle Fries as a starter.

I had a wonderful Grey Goose Martini to sip on while I waited for my fries. I think that just seeing white truffle and fries together caused me to have a flash back of the most amazing fries I have ever had at a now closed restaurant in Houston. So I didn't notice in the description that the fries just had white truffle oil, not the shavings of white truffle I was dreaming of. Still, the roasted garlic and cheese with the truffle oil was a nice combination. Mine had rosemary as the herb rather than the thyme listed on the menu, and it was underneath the fries so I didn't discover it until I was halfway through the dish. Once I discovered the rosemary, the dish had a more interesting balance of flavors.

When the Shrimp and Grits arrived, I asked the bartender for a wine recommendation. He recommended a riesling, which I hesitated to order as I prefer a dry white wine. But he insisted it would be great with the dish and I am glad I took his recommendation. My first bite of the bacon wrapped shrimp seemed so rich, I wasn't sure I would be able to finish it. But then a bite of the grits, which were heavenly, and a sip of the wine, it was a wonderful dish. I have only had grits twice before. Both times they seemed OK, so I am not by any means an authority on grits. But I could eat those grits every single day.

As it turns out, the bartender who recommended the shrimp, ended up telling me the pork chop is his favorite thing on the menu. So I will have to go back to try that, but oh those grits....

The restaurant has a great atmosphere and seemed to have a good mix of locals as well as tourists, which is a good sign in a tourist town. All the waitstaff were friendly, helpful, and efficient. I can't wait to go back for the pork chop, but I am going to have to have it with a side of those grits.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Westwind13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must visit place in the Big Easy”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

What an awesome restaurant. IF your looking for a taste of some authentic Cajun food, this is the place. Had dinner there on the Sunday of the French Quarter Festival and was really impressed. Be sure to get Michael at the bar to make you a Bloody Mary. I guarantee you it will be the best you have ever had.

Their signature dish, BBQ Shrimp is worthy of the name signature dish. The sauce is unlike anything I have ever tasted. Sooooo good! Their fried oysters are also just plain spectacular.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. B's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mr. B's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing