We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. B's Bistro

Mr. B's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr. B's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 1,920 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a reservation somewhere else but a local recommended this and it was fabulous. Our waiter was extremely helpful and friendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dhk923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,537
    1,035
    360
    125
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“This is THE place for BBQ shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

BBQ shrimp (if you do not know NOLA BBQ shrimp it is different. Buttery, worchstershire and spice sauce - no grill - no BBQ sauce) is done at almost every NOLA resurant. It is THE BEST here. Cooked and servered in the shells. You get a bib and a lemon towel to clean your hands - this is finger food. Dig in, clean them up and eat. The amazing rich sauce is perfect on the shrimp or sopped up with the small loaf of bread you get. We have tried it in many places but keep comiong back toe Mr. B's. Even other Brennen family resurants do not do it the same as here. Always great to see one of the Brennen clan in house and working the floor. They are an amzzing resturant business family who are very hands on and envolved in all the places.

My wife had the fried oysetrs - 6 hugh, plum oysters. I had the outstanding duck spring rolls. Very tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wpeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This restaurant is across the street from the Hotel Monteleone. Everything we had was terrific. Its crowded and noisy but worth it. The wait staff was very helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarnaBethlehem_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived on a Monday night without reservations and were seated within 15 minutes. The restaurant was full. The wait staff were all incredibly pleasant and professional. Food was wonderful. I had the best pork chop of my life: no gristle, cooked completely through, moist. It came with a reduction sauce and enough rice to sop up what was left of the sauce.

For dessert I ordered the Orange Ginger Creme Brulee. Creme Brulee is my go to dessert as I have Celiacs. So I have had quite a few... hands down this was the best I'd ever had.

My husband ordered the market fish and said it was cooked perfectly flaky and moisty.

I would have given it 5 stars BUT the air conditioner wasn't working at full capacity and it was a little on the warm side in the restaurant and my dessert came out before my dessert coffee so I was almost done eating before the coffee arrived.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JLynch7471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Fun classic New Orleans Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went here at the last minute because we were running late for our reservation at Dantes Kitchen. Room is really great with wonderful old bar, LOTS of waiters and helpers in black and white, leather chairs. Service is very friendly and prices very reasonable. Food is not to die for, but is perfectly good. All the yummy local fare you would anticipate. Fairly priced too. Good spot for a casual if slightly upscale evening out. My only complaint is that the place closes up at 9:30! but you can just head across the street to carousel bar for another buzzing, classy place to grab a good cocktail

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank melujohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. B's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mr. B's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing