We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Louisiana Bistro

Louisiana Bistro
Ranked #241 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My son is still talking about the lamb entree he had at Louisiana Bistro! This is a lovely little restaurant in the French Quarter where you won't get the usual gumbo and po' boy menu. (Not that there's anything wrong with that, but there's more to New Orleans than gumbo.) The chef visited our table while we were dining, and he's clearly concerned about the happiness of his customers. I like that. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    98
    34
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stumbled upon this very small bistro thanks to a local bartender. I had the swordfish and my husband had the porkchop. They have a feed me option that is sometimes available, but sadly not the night we went. The service and food were both exceptional. Make reservations!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vtirishtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small restaurant - big surprise”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Looking at it from the outside will not tell you the quality of food you will get on the inside. The dinner we got today was the best we had for 4 days in the French Quarter - and the best we had for 3 weeks in the USA (we are 4 visitors from Denmark). The relatively small menu includes very varied dishes. We found no over-cooking or un-necessary breading/frying here. Pure first class raw materials perfectly prepared and served in very tasty well seasoned - bordering hot - dishes. Highly recommended is the surf-and-turf entree as well as the lamb. We also had a couple of delicious appetizers and desserts. The service was outstanding and very kind too. Ad some good red wine and the ambience on the place, and it ads up to a very pleasurable experience we can highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NielsHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious meal at a cozy restaurant”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a delightful meal at this small restaurant in the Quarter. It appeared to be a place favored by locals (or at least sophisticated tourists). It was small - 11 tables and the chef made his rounds several times. You definitely need a reservation on weekends. My husband and I did not do the Feed Me option, but really enjoyed the meals we ordered from the menu (the Seafood Collilon was excellent).

Helpful?
2 Thank hoffm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst fine dining experience ever!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Please DO NOT eat here EVER-they have lousy food and service and are not worth your money or taste buds!

First of all, it had the most pretentious and terrible service ever. We were left waiting at the door for 5 minutes before the wait staff acknowledged us. Then, we were told we may not be able to get a table because of reservations (the restaurant was 1/2 empty at the time and remained empty throughout our meal). We wanted to get the Feed Me meal that everyone raves about, but my husband does not eat fish, and they refused to modify the menu for him, and they refused to serve the tasting menu to just me- the rules are that everyone at the table needs to order it or nobody gets it.

When we told the waiter how terrible the food was, the waiter waived his hand in my face and said, "oh well"! I could not eat my duck- it had cheap Chinese restaurant sweet and sour sauce on it. Literally, Panda Express style sweet and sour sauce! i ordered medium rare and got it well done. my husband ordered the pork chop and it was over salted and raw towards the bone- pink pork!!

It was a complete let down, even the table next to us was sad. I made a gagging face and the lady nodded her head, pointed at her plate and frowned and shook her head no, she didnt like what she got either. The women who got the Feed Me at the table behind us got all the same courses that every other reviewer on yelp got- the crawfish beignets in lemon butter and drum fish. The stupid menu never changes! And it's $50 for 3 courses, $60 for 4, and $70 for 5. Rip off! It's tiny portions, too.

Maybe it used to be good here but no more!!!! Save your money and go to Bourbon House down the street- it's cheaper, better food with friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FloralAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisiana Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Louisiana Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing