We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite place to eat!”

Liuzza's by the Track
Ranked #247 of 1,963 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Neighborhood: Fairgrounds
Description: Local flavor at it's best near the Fairgrounds! BBQ Shrimp poboys, Gumbo,Bloody Marys etc.
Arlington, TX
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
471 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“My new favorite place to eat!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our 2nd stop of a biking food tour on Monday and our last New Orleans meal on a Wed of the same week! Had a cup of their fantastic gumbo each time-wow, totally my new favorite gumbo, they call it Creole gumbo-I call it fantastic! First trip we shared the bbq shrimp poboy-delicious and rich, glad we shared! 2nd trip had a fried shrimp poboy-best of the trip, hubs had hot sausage poboy, yummy and we shared their fresh real fries. Our service was friendly and prompt each trip and I'm totally in love this this place and the neighborhood!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachbumAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    69
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Realism”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Tucked on a corner close to the track (as the name implies), don't neglect the daily specials or the almost anything on the menu that tickles your fancy. This is authentic NOLA neighborhood food.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank acoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't Be Scared, It Really Is Delicious (and Friendly) in There”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

The other reviews are right. My signature BBQ shrimp po' boy was something like I've never had before. I thought it would be too big to eat, but I just couldn't stop it was so good. Add to that some pretty amazing sweet potato fries, all at a pretty low price, and you got the makings of a can't-miss New Orleans restaurant. (Don't let the outside throw you off. Once you get inside you realize its like any other small neighborhood restaurant. My wife, who is pretty picky about these things, ended up just fine with the whole thing.)

Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best PoBoy in New Orleans!!!!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was the Best PoBoy in New Orleans!!!!! Their food and Service was Excellent!!! Had both a shrimp and catfish poboy and their gumbo was delicious! This was a lunch that we took a cab to get to... no need, just take the trolley and save $$. Highly Recommend!!!!!!!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mtgegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“The place to be for local fare”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This is truly a find. This local place was recommended by a valet at the hotel. We are so glad it was. The atmosphere and food are local. You cannot go wrong with anything on the menu. This is a must for the true New Orleans experience.

Helpful?
Thank Debrah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liuzza's by the Track also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Liuzza's by the Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing