We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One person "can" and "did" ruin a great experience.”

Katie's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #21 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Description: Closed due to damage sustained in Hurricane Katrina.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One person "can" and "did" ruin a great experience.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014


The food was awesome, the waiter very attentive, the Chef, whom we found out later was the owner, very gracious. He made it a point to check on his entire guest. We even met a family who had just eaten there the night before and may have been regulars, confirmed the food was great and the careful listeners that we are, we took the liberty to order almost everything that the family referred to us until something we ordered neither met our expectation nor was presented as promised. With that in mind, a woman came to the table (may have been the co-owner) and almost demand with much personal negative attitude, that we accept the dish. Keep in mind we did not touch the item due to immediately knowing it was not what we expected, request to make it right or keep the wrong item. That was not enough for her, she went on to share this information with one of her employee that had nothing to do with the situation. At this point we had already ordered 4-5 items from the menu and was just getting started, instead, we closed the bill and left. My point is, money was not the factor because we had already spent a lot of money, was willing to spend even more and the tip of over 50% of the bill prove it was not about paying. It was about customer service and “paying” for what we ordered. Having my own business and blessed enough to have passed it alone to the next generation so that I may enjoy retirement, the main advice I left behind is, maintain integrity, before taking over my legacy (business), passion, potential and profit is needed to fulfill your purpose in life. You may lose profit, but don’t sleep and customers by making a decision that doesn’t feel right. Lastly, I shared with them work hard, but laugh harder. One of the most disturbing facts in this situation is that we saw two other tables return items, both half gone and the very same woman took it back with a smile. WOW, go figure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zenobia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    167
    39
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yum......in a heart beat !!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Excellent district restaurant very typical of New Orleans....this one is a winner for sure. Large menu to pick from with specials written on a chalk board, usually 5 or 6 specials....I would most definitely go back here...all I have to do is get back to New Orleans. If you notice all the reviews written are way above average and for very good reason Do yourself and who ever accompanies you and don't miss this one......you'll be more than pleased I am positive !!! It was busy when we went and we were there shortly after lunch hour but managed to get some seating and really just enjoyed everything offered and service was fantastic as well.......price was very reasonable for the quality of food tooooo....winner winner !!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank up4it52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
575 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Mid-City stalwart”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

If they serve food, they're going to have a bar in New Orleans. And unlike the Cheesecake Factory their going to have a good bar, with local beers and nicely made cocktails. Oh yeah, the food. High quality ingredients, made with care and served to you in a converted house, it's a neighborhood favorite.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PetePope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
393 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to get there”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a neighborhood restaurant off the trolley car line that goes towards the end of the line cemeteries. It is a few stops before the end of the line and then a quick 2 blocks down. The place was packed for Saturday lunch so we sat at the bar area and waited for a table. Service was super friendly, portions were enormous and the food was excellent! Most people were ordering the oysters and the garlic fries. We had the Cuban po-boy with house made chips. Soo good. Really yummy bloody mays with olives, okra, green bean and pearl olive skewer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank likethewind27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice eats in Nola”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

First timers to Nola. True local took us here for dinner. It was a tues.nite and place was cranking. Our server was awesome,food came hot and delicious. Fried green tomatoes yum, oysters yum,vegetarian dish delightful and pasta was enough for 3 people!
Place has it totally together!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katie's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Katie's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing