We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New Orleans

“Mediocre Food and poor service”

Joey K's Restaurant & Bar
Order Online
Ranked #97 of 2,262 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Garden District
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was recommended to go here after a walking tour in the garden district. Food was okay, and service was pretty poor.i ordered a shrimp po boy and their macaroni and cheese. All was just okay. I wouldn’t really recommend someone going here to eat unless you’re in the time pinch like we were. Luckily the food server was a different person as he moved quickly, but the drink and order waitress moved pretty slow and we had to try to get her attention several times to get drink refills. Pricing is pretty decieving though. Lots of add on prices to nickel and dime ya, which is a bit annoying. IE: adding $4 to have a loaded baked potatoe... that’s right $4 for some cheese sour creams and kitchen basics. Safe to say I didn’t order it. I can’t write much about the food as it was just so mediocre. It came out and it was warm. Mac cheese wasn’t super creamy and the po’boy was the same as everywhere else.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Germerica11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sadly we were not hungry enough to order dinner at Joey K's but so glad we were hungry enough for the wonderful appetizer Eggplant Napoleon. It can be ordered as an entree with pasta or an appetizer. I thought after reading all the great reviews I'd probably be disappointed since my expectations were high. It was as wonderful as the reviews say.
***********So good!!!**********
Perfectly cooked eggplant, lots of shrimp layered and wonderfully rich sauce.
I was full but husband wanted dessert and ordered the blackberry cobbler. It was warm and so good I had to share it.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank grapetomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly, efficient servers. Good beer selection. Daily specials. Good menu variety (seafood, chicken, burgers, etc.). Everybody liked what they ordered (so we ate there again later in the week).

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank techdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

We came out to the garden district to get away from the French quarter and wanted to eat some local creole food. They have daily specials on which all looked delicious. We had the half po boy and jambalaya and tried a small gumbo and also had the fried catfish. All of the food was brilliant and by far the best food we ate in New Orleans in terms of quality and value for money.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Lauraw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

We both had the fried chicken. It was huge and very good. Would recommend to anyone that wants something small and not in the French Quarter.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dream768153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey K's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Joey K's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing