We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Great Service, Convenient Location”

Joey K's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #63 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Garden District
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Service, Convenient Location”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stopped here after taking a "Free Tours By Foot - Garden District" tour (I also have reviewed this and highly recommend this tour with Sarah H.) after which Sarah recommended this as an authentic local place to get a great meal. She was correct. There was a small line, but the hostess seated us fairly quick. We ordered a gumbo, cornbread and two po-boys (crawfish and roast beef) and both were very tasty and dressed with fresh ingredients. The cornbread and gumbo were excellent! Our waitress was fast, friendly and efficient. This didn't seem like a tourist trap and looked like many local business customers were dining for lunch. If the weather is nice, try to get a table outside, as I think this would be the best dining atmosphere option. Also, the bus stop is across the street, which was a nice convenience. Hope you'll enjoy as much as we did!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beyond_all_Borders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    238
    64
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Place”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a great little lunch. One had gumbo; the others had jambalaya. There is seating both inside and out. It was raining today to we were inside. Very casual. Worth a stop

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Local Joint”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We loved eating with the locals, and getting a great feel for the Garden District. We got to town on a Friday night and walked a couple of blocks from the Sully Mansion and found this gem. Honestly, the best fried shrimp I have ever had. The atmosphere was cool, and the service was good. Great place! We were going to break the cardinal rule of traveling and were going to eat at the same restaurant twice - but they are closed on Sundays. Oh we'll, we will be back on another trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“New Orleans dive that is worth the drive”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Was with some business associates not far from the Joey K's location and decided to travel over to Magazine Street to try this dive. The neighborhood is unique and has a Southern charm that makes you want to explore this historic area even more. The one negative to traveling over to this dive was finding parking on the street during the lunch hour. I can only imagine what dinner is like around there. Having said that, 5 of us were able to get a table during the lunch hour. The foot traffic into this restaurant was pretty good for a Tuesday. The staff was very nice and attentive though they seemed stretch with the amount of tables they were working. I ordered a cup of Gumbo and their Red Beans and Rice entree. When in New Orleans, you have to get this type of food. Joey K's did not disappoint me at all. The gumbo had a rich, brown roux with nice chunks of seafood. It wasn't too spicy but had a great flavor. The Red Beans and Rice came on a huge plate with a nice grilled sausage on top. The sausage was tasty yet not too spicy. It was grilled right. The red beans and rice had excellent flavor, right temperature, and the portion size was huge. Two people could have tackled this thing. My business associates loved their meals. Several got one of the daily specials: the veal cutlet. All of them raved how tasty and wonderful this meal was. Another associate got an appetizer for his meal that could have been an entree in most restaurants: the Eggplant Napolean. He is from the Gulf Coast area and has been in New Orleans countless times. He was amazed at the Eggplant Napolean appetizer. He could not stop talking about it. The price/value of our meals was very reasonable especially when you compare it to the rest of the New Orleans restaurant scene. We would recommend venturing out to this area and dining at Joey K's. You will not be sorry for taking the time to travel there!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BulletBob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not worth looking for.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is very small, difficult to find nearby parking so it would be wise to take a bus during the day. It has a good reputation, is listed as a place to dine, we had to wait for a table. Service was prompt and friendly. I ordered roast pork and it was less appetising than pork I make at home. Other meals were ordinary. Po'boy sandwich is not what I call great cuisine. However, they do a magnificent appetiser called Eggplant Napoleon. Never seen anything like it, eggplant and shrimp in lovely sauce, stunning. But not enough to make me come back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey K's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Joey K's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing