We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Restaurant”

Joey K's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #63 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Garden District
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Local Restaurant”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This charming little restaurant was a great find. Great Jambalaya and Bread Pudding to die for. Probably the best red beans and rice you will ever have. Excellent service and a great value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    238
    64
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Eat Where the Locals Eat”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place is hidden in plain sight. It is not a fancy venue, but if you want absolutely great local fare, this is the spot. You MUST try there award winning red beans and rice. This is a "stick to your bones" dish that feels great on a cool winter evening. It is the absolute definition of "comfort food" and they do it so well. The prices here are quite reasonable. The only warning is that the inside dining room is very loud when it is full. If you are hard of hearing (like me) you will find it impossible to carry on a conversation unless you sit outside on the sidewalk.

for a family outing, you can head a couple of doors down to Sucre' (one of the most decadent gelato stores in the city) for dessert.

NOTE: The walls of this restaurant are covered in folk art (for sale) by a locally famous artist called "Simon". Once you recognize his work, you will see it all over town...even on billboards.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WellTraveled282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaping Portions of Authentic Cajun Grub”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great jambalaya, red beans and rice, and awesome po-boys. Not fancy, but perfect for great lunch, supper with beers. Be careful in ordering, as all portions are huge. Go there hungry.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WallytheK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was best restaurant that we ate at while in New Orleans. I got the roast beef poboy, and my husband got the red beans and rice. They were both very good, except the poboy came with seasoned fries and I don't like seasoned fries. But it still was the best place that we ate at! Wish I would have eaten there every day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank honya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
se ct
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Visiting NOLA & was looking for a not-too-pricey, NOLA/Southern lunch with my husband. PERFECT choice! He had cheese fries for an appetizer & "All U Can Eat Catfish" for a main course (we were hungry). And of course iced tea. I rarely see him so happy with a meal. I even think he was going to try to bribe the server for the salad dressing recipe that came on his salad ... no luck there.

As for me, I ordered fried artichoke hearts for an appetizer (this is the South - they gotta fry it!) ... I LOVE artichoke hearts but have never had them fried & was a little leery, but decided to give it a shot. Thrilled that I did. My fried oyster Po-boy for lunch was also just wonderful.

Our server was a gem, by the way.

Biggest problem? Size of portions. Sadly, not even a blip of space for what I am sure are fabulous deserts. Portions are healthy and you will NOT be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kambea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey K's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Joey K's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing