We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great bread pudding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Market Cafe

Market Cafe
Ranked #262 of 1,932 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great bread pudding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ate here twice in a 4 day stay, good price, menu had lots of variety, food was good (oysters great!) and the bread pudding for dessert was wonderful both times!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 958pbelanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    301
    167
    62
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go for the ambience, not the food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We were in the French Market and stopped here for lunch. The atmosphere of the restaurant was nice and there was a jazz band performing on the patio, but unfortunately, the food was not anything to brag about. I get a better muffaleto in Hickory, NC. My husband got the sampler plate with 3 different cajun/creole specialties and they were ok to him. I think we will try a different restaurant the next time we are in the French Market.

Helpful?
Thank Momppl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stopped here for lunch. We had a variety of food. Muffaletta sandwich, red beans and rice, hamburger, jumbalaya, & alligator. Over all the food was very good. It was a little pricey but not anymore so than any other place we had been. The server was fantastic. He was very helpful. The atmosphere was great, loved the live music. You can sit outside or inside in the a/c.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktateMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

very good eggs benedict and made to order. I had steak and eggs but they missed the mark on the steak. still a very nice breakfast spot with very good service

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank arthur l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Go here if you're starving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

A group of 7 of us had came here second choice to the Bistro across the street. I've been here before so I kind of knew what to expect but here's my first review.

We ordered 2 breakfast buffets: had your normal breakfast stuff, the eggs and pancakes were pretty good for a buffet.
Crawfish beignets: dry but edible, the sauce was kind of weird unless you like horseradish cause I tasted a lot of it.
two ordered fried oyster poboys: they said it was disgusting for people who love oysters, don't know if it was a bad batch or what.
i got the gyro: DELICIOUS. meat was sooo tender
another ordered bowl of gumbo and someone else ordered a burger: no compaints.

Service on the other hand was kind of terrible. There were moments where I was soooo thirsty and she took a while to refill our drinks. I literally yelled out THANK GODDDD when she finally came.

They also have a band outside that plays jazz music, pretty cool to listen to if you sit outside and sip drinks. The drinks are good.

I wouldn't reccommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatheeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Cafe also viewed

New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Market Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing