We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but way over rated.”
Review of Sammy's Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

Sammy's Seafood Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food but way over rated.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Title says most of it. Food was great. Service was ok. Price was inflated. $20 later I'm still hungry...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    19
    7
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pearl River, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
147 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lcoal Flavor”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Awesome gumbo, great roast beef po boys. Be prepared to stand in line. Worth the wait. Daily specials are good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Curtis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not bad for a quick bite”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We popped in for a quick snack and enjoyed the crabcake and some bbq shrimp. The staff mentioned that the restaurant is the process of changing names/ownership. It was pretty empty so service was quick and the staff was very friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank fleurdelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time....”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We sat down ordered our meal, we were served the 2 appetizers that we had ordered. Once the waiter served these he disappeared. We had no table service, napkins etc. When he finally appeared we told him how poor his service was. 5 minutes later we received our bill without the remainer of our order. I went to speak to mgmt. was told we were asked to leave for disrepecting our server. I then was appalled, asked who the owner/manager was? The answer I received was "some people" she would not give me a name or direct me to someone I could speak too. There are many many good restaurants on Bourbon St. with the same menu (there is nothing special on Sammy's menu) that can and do and did provide excellent food and excellent service. I would recommend Oceana. Avoid this place, they have no respect for customers choosing to come in and spend hard earned money at their establishment. The experience we had was humilating considering others were within earshot. I would never give this place a second chance.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I had mixed feelings about Sammy's. The service was very good right from the start. The food (I had the blackened tuna) I thought was very good. It actually had a healthy feel to it and it was almost the sort of home-style cooking you expect from your mother, which, when you're stuck with the heavy and salty food you get from the vast majority of restaurants, is a very welcome break. I got the impression that the chef puts a lot of love into the food, and as a diner I appreciated that. The only thing that worried me about Sammy's was the hygeine - the menus was filthy and sticky, and there were scores of mini butter packets left out, surely they belong in the fridge? So clearly there is some room for improvement there, but for me the food, price and service was superb.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aroman_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing