We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food, Terrible service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant

The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #197 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: The Old Coffee Pot, located on St. Peter Street located next to Pat O Brian's and right off Bourbon Street is a great location for tourists and locals alike. The restaurant founded and established in 1894, is well known for serving one of the best breakfasts in New Orleans, with famous dishes such as the Crab cake Jonathan and traditional dishes such as the callas cakes. We also serve great lunch, with a special that includes a half of po-boy, a cup of gumbo and a side of fries that has become a crowd favorite and is one of the best samplers in the neighborhood. Our evening menu features the "Triple D', a dish that was featured on Food Network's "Dinners, Drive-In's, and Dives". Alongside this dish are other reasonably priced dishes of Creole and Cajun cuisine to satisfy anyone's appetite. We also offer a variety of beverages and cocktails, traditional mixed drinks and wines to compliment any dish. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating, an aesthetically pleasing courtyard and a unique and traditional dining room with an atmosphere filled with New Orleans tradition and Southern charm. The Old Coffee Pot also offers additional services such as private parties and catered banquets in the river room or courtyard, reservations, and extensive one on one cooking classes hosted by Taste bud Tours.
Sherwood Park Alberta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Average food, Terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

A group of five of us went to dinner here on an early Saturday evening. We should have gone with our first impression and left right away. Our waitress wasn't just grumpy, she was positively angry, yelling insults at one of the cooks and blaming him for customers leaving.
We had an ok meal that was nothing special compared to the many other choices of similar food in the French Quarter and the decor was fine but the miserable angry waitress who eventually just seemed to forget we were there and mixed up our orders was plain and simply awful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdnwatchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    322
    141
    99
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinston upon Hull, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We found this place when mooching through the French Quarter. Normally we don't eat at the same place twice but this made us change our minds. The Kalle cakes and corned beef hash are so good, we would certainly head back there next time we are over from England.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is a jewel. The waitresses are very friendly and welcoming. We visited twice for breakfast. The calla cakes are the best in town. I had with & without pecans. I preferred the without. The grits are a MUST!!

Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We ate breakfast there two days in a row. The food was awesome! Grits, perfect, eggs cooked properly, bacon just right, biscuits that my grandmother would have been proud of, all food seasoned just right. In short everything about the food was right on, including the coffee. Had we discovered it earlier we would have eaten there again. Our server both days was Wilhelmina; she was the epitome of GREAT service with a smile. Loved her we did. The only thing we did not like.....on the second day the staff allowed a party of six drinking/drunk young guys with tall beer cans still in hand (!) to come into the main dining room at 8:30AM. Needless to say the energy in the room changed immediately to drunken frat boy central. We could have done with out that mess. Maybe allowing drinkers who are still drinking in at 8:30am is accepted NOLA practice but it made us rush our meal and get out of there quicker than we would have liked to. We would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Perry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant for dinner because it was part of the Delta SkyMiles Dining program. The food was pretty good. We had the Chicken Andouille Gumbo, the Corn and Crab chowder and the New Orleans Sampler, which included the jambalaya, gumbo and etouffee. All were very tasty, well seasoned and cooked, and served piping hot. However, it took a long time to get menus and to have our order taken. Our server was friendly but the other servers went around grumbling and mumbling. We observed neighboring tables being vacated and no one came to clear them out until new patrons came in looking for a place to sit. Another couple had been waiting for so long that they had to scarf down their food in order to make it to another engagement.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trinni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing