We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food - felt like being in mom's kitchen!”

The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #204 of 1,933 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: The Old Coffee Pot, located on St. Peter Street located next to Pat O Brian's and right off Bourbon Street is a great location for tourists and locals alike. The restaurant founded and established in 1894, is well known for serving one of the best breakfasts in New Orleans, with famous dishes such as the Crab cake Jonathan and traditional dishes such as the callas cakes. We also serve great lunch, with a special that includes a half of po-boy, a cup of gumbo and a side of fries that has become a crowd favorite and is one of the best samplers in the neighborhood. Our evening menu features the "Triple D', a dish that was featured on Food Network's "Dinners, Drive-In's, and Dives". Alongside this dish are other reasonably priced dishes of Creole and Cajun cuisine to satisfy anyone's appetite. We also offer a variety of beverages and cocktails, traditional mixed drinks and wines to compliment any dish. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating, an aesthetically pleasing courtyard and a unique and traditional dining room with an atmosphere filled with New Orleans tradition and Southern charm. The Old Coffee Pot also offers additional services such as private parties and catered banquets in the river room or courtyard, reservations, and extensive one on one cooking classes hosted by Taste bud Tours.
Bellbrook, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food - felt like being in mom's kitchen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We found this quaint little restaurant by chance one morning and was so glad we did! The food was excellent, homemade cookin just like mom! French toast made with French bread and great bloody Mary's! Make sure you stop here for breakfast while in NO!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    329
    146
    99
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
329 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a highly recommended restaurant, so we had to give it a try. Being "northerners" toward the end of winter, outdoor dining was to our liking. Each in our group of four ordered different dinners, and all food was excellent. Service, however, was slow, during an early evening that was not particularly busy. When asking for separate checks per couple, we were told we could not do that. Then, we tried to split the bill, and each couple pay half, but that seemed to create major confusion, as well. We weren't sure if this was restaurant policy, or if our server struggled with math.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bosanchubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Believe the Hype”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I found out about this restaurant from a local in the area. We were not impressed by the hype of some of the more "touristy" restaurants and I was way to hungry to wait in line an hour + line to eat. We didn't see this spot mentioned in any of the tour guides but was highly recommended by a local; quite honestly that meant more to us. We were looking for a good non-creole breakfast...eggs, grits, toast, bacon...period.

This restaurant is off the beaten path a bit but still within walking distance from Bourbon St. If you're not looking for it, you may very well miss it. Nothing flashy...on the outside.
Inside, however, you will be entertained by the "colorful" banter of staff and comforted in good ole' fashioned, homey atmosphere. Oh, and I dare not forget to mention the food is DELICIOUS and reasonably priced.

So if you're not caught up in the hype of the more frequented establishments...you can believe the hype here...I don't think you'd be disappointed with the Old Coffee Pot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4MoBulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great price for real NOLA food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

the prices are very reasonable
they serve breakfast until 1pm
we just stopped in to get some of there "famous Gumbo"
they have seafood and chicken/sausage gumbo
both were great

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank teamHNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little Spot but AWESOME food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped here for breakfast on our NOLA trip, and loved the food here. It's a cute, little dive, with wonderful service. The lady serving was so adorable, and very sweet. The biscuits they serve here are out of this world! If there's a wait, it's worth waiting for a table. We loved the food here more than any of the famous restaurants in town. Home cooked food here is the way to go! :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing