We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”

The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant
Ranked #210 of 1,948 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: The Old Coffee Pot, located on St. Peter Street located next to Pat O Brian's and right off Bourbon Street is a great location for tourists and locals alike. The restaurant founded and established in 1894, is well known for serving one of the best breakfasts in New Orleans, with famous dishes such as the Crab cake Jonathan and traditional dishes such as the callas cakes. We also serve great lunch, with a special that includes a half of po-boy, a cup of gumbo and a side of fries that has become a crowd favorite and is one of the best samplers in the neighborhood. Our evening menu features the "Triple D', a dish that was featured on Food Network's "Dinners, Drive-In's, and Dives". Alongside this dish are other reasonably priced dishes of Creole and Cajun cuisine to satisfy anyone's appetite. We also offer a variety of beverages and cocktails, traditional mixed drinks and wines to compliment any dish. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating, an aesthetically pleasing courtyard and a unique and traditional dining room with an atmosphere filled with New Orleans tradition and Southern charm. The Old Coffee Pot also offers additional services such as private parties and catered banquets in the river room or courtyard, reservations, and extensive one on one cooking classes hosted by Taste bud Tours.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Arrived around 11:30 and there was a line. Being December it was cold but they kept the line turned to block the wind and keep as many of us as warm as possible. Waited about 15 mins (went next door and got a Bloody Mary from Pat O's for the wait lol). The decor is old New Orleans with lots of character. Shirley waited on us and service was prompt. I ordered Eggs Jonathan. My friend ordered crab and corn Chowder and shrimp and grits. Food arrived timely and it was outstanding. Shirley was warm, friendly and really made us feel at home. When we left she wanted to give us all a hug. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReadytoTravel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    336
    149
    102
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slow kitchen. So so food”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Was a good place but with change of ownership no longer. Great wait staff but kitchen can't seem to deliver a table at the same time. Gumbo is overpriced at $10 a bowl

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DallasSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
421 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good breakfast but avoid dinner”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had such a good breakfast and served by so nice people that we decided to spend our last dinner in NOLA at the same place. What a huge difference. Lukewarm jambalaya (you had to really look for the sausage and the chicken was non existent) and lackluster service. This establishment gets high ratings just for breakfast. Stay away after 3pm!

Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
124 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast, cozy environment”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great breakfast spot in the heart of the French Quarter! Traditionalists and those who prefer creative options will both be pleased with omelets, pancakes, eggs & ham. Charming staff who know their regulars and give them a holiday hug. Calla cake recipe dates to the 19th century--delicious and historic! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kira_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Old Coffee Pot is next to Pat O"Brian's on St. Peter St. in the French Quarter. It's a small place, probably 20-25 tables and its been there a long time.

We went for breakfast on a Saturday. There was a line before we got there, but when we arrived, a bit after 10am, no line and we sat ourselves. Service is quick, water to the table and drink orders. Its almost Christmas, so mimosas today. My wife had Creole Eggs with grits and biscuit. Excellent across the board. She makes great biscuits herself, but immediately said that these are better than hers, this is incredibly high praise. The grits were really good and she loved the eggs. I'm not a mushroom eater, so I didn't taste.
I had the plantation breakfast with scrambled eggs, ham steak, home fries and a Calla Cake. All were spiced a little hot and they were great. The eggs were cooked wonderfully, a little moist but hot and tasty. The ham was nicely done and flavor-filled. The home fries were cooked with peppers and onions, pretty standard, but again spicey and really good. The Calla cake is from an 1800s recipe and is rice balled up with some flour and deep fried. There has to be some molasses in it. Its served with powdered sugar and maple syrup--it is as tasty and decadent as it sounds.
Breakfast is pricey, which means we won't go back often, but for a great breakfast in the quarter, give this place a shot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Polysemous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Old Coffee Pot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing