We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique brunch items” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eat

Eat
Ranked #57 of 1,920 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Homer, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique brunch items”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had brunch at EAT in New Orleans. They are not open for breakfast per se. It's a very small restaurant just off Bourbon Street in the French Quarter. They have a lot of unusual menu items. Very regional choices...crawdad casserole, etc. The food was excellent. The choices were unique. The service was great. Just an all round fun place for brunch. The seating is very limited, though, so you might want to go about the time they open. We made a point of being there when they opened and were able to walk right in. I'm not sure if they take reservations or not.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    198
    65
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had dinner there last night. The restaurant is fairly quiet and appeared to be mostly couples and families with children. There were no large groups with quantities of alcohol. Everyone appeared to be fairly low key. This was St Patrick's Day weekend and this was not the crowd in the restaurant. Although the wait was longer than expected and you have to wait outside on the street corner the food is very good and portions are satisfactory. The restaurant is very clean, wait staff is responsive and food service is fast. We arrived after 8:00 pm and did see them pulling the curtains closed around 9:30. For the previous reviewer who gave them a low rating because they wouldn't let them in this is a quiet place and I'm sure the employees are ready to leave at 10:00. To have a group come in at 9:50 is not the crowd this place attracts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wadeaminut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite Disappointed in the Manager..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived 10 minutes before 10:00pm on at Friday evening, with three bottles of wine in hand (Its a BYOB restaurant due to proximity to a school nearby), and we're told quite rudely and abruptly.."We ARE closed..!".

Even when after trying to reason with him that we had another couple in from out of town and we would order quite quickly because we really wanted to showcase a great and select location to our friends. Still an abrupt.."AS I SAID, WE ARE CLOSED..!".

What restaurant in an international city like New Orleans closes its doors to 4 patrons - with 3 bottles of WINE in hand - 10 minutes before 10PM on a FRIDAY night..?!?!?! RIDICULOUS ATTITUDE FROM THE MANAGER. Obviously and apparently, he's not the owner.

This place just fell off my list of top select places for quality in New Orleans. Such a shame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmnypny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Completely enchanted and well indulged by the Eggs Cochon (including mild greens, terrific hollandaise and delightful pulled pork "cubes") as well as Eggs de Provence (served bubbly hot with a surprisingly wonderful bouquet from the herbs). The latter was recommended by a Sunday regular.

Note: the restaurant is BYOB but you're welcome to bring your bloody mary from the bar down the street as I did.

My husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed the menu, food, service and decor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alankat_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not well known jewel of a place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

A nice small understated place with delicious food, run by locals featuring local food with local ingrediance. Bring you own wine or beer since they don't have alcoholic beverages, but they will uncork your bottle and bring you wine glasses. It's also reasonably priced for a French Quarter restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank wisctraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat also viewed

 

Been to Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing