We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place in Bywater”

Jack Dempsey's Restaurant
Ranked #294 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Description: Closed due to damage sustained in Hurricane Katrina.
La Place
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Good Place in Bywater”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

It's a very simple-looking neighborhood seafood restaurant, but it's quite popular with the locals. I had the fried shrimp plate (with a side of coleslaw), my father had the fried catfish plate (with a side of French fries), and my sister had the crab salad. All of us were very satisfied with the food (about $9.95 for lunch). The waitress was friendly. I would recommend their baked macaroni, which is sort of their signature side item. Also, they've got a beer special- 5 Heinekens for $8.00, which is a good deal these days. RJT

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJayT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    34
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must Do For New Orleans Seafood”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Jack Dempsys can be crowded, so call ahead for large crowds. It isnt unmanagable but be prepared to wait a little bit for your food. Kids will LOVE the mac n cheese if they dont like seafood. The seafood is the best in the city, and the poboys are good too. The price isnt terrible, but it isnt cheap. They give you generous amounts. The place is a little small and not in a great area, but it isnt a bar or nasty. Definitley would reccomend this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkswirler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had the king crab and shrimp salad, and it was OK, but nothing special. If you like fried food, though, your opinion might be different. Prices were reasonable (for NOLA) - most entrees $13 -$18 for dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderWomanFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great seafood, great prices.”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Love the steamed dungeness crab, with drawn butter. And all the fish and shrimp dishes. Really a nice New Orleans place to eat. I'll never forget the time they say me right next to Fats Domino. What a treat. And his songs kept playing on the oldies juke box. Truly a little bit of heaven. Soooo New Orleans.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladauphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take out”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was in New Orleans for a funeral, and Jack Dempsey was the only seafood restaurant in he area, I decided to ordered a seafood platter, which I did enjoyed. Jack Dempsey still provided the same quality and quantity of food, but the prices has increased, but it was worth every penny.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadMaster777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Dempsey's Restaurant also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Jack Dempsey's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing