We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant venue for a fine lunch and a beautiful park view”

Ralph's on the Park
Reserve with OpenTable
Ralph's on the Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #236 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Lakeview
Cross street: Between North Alexander & North Hennessey
Transit: Canal Street Streetcar - 5 blocks from restaurant.
chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very pleasant venue for a fine lunch and a beautiful park view”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

very pleasant venue for a fine lunch and a beautiful park view. well prepared turtle soup--brennan's style ( it is a brennan's family restaurant) and interesting preparations of other dishes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank joeljcj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    81
    28
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here on business. The atmosphere is nice, and it's right across the street from a beautiful historic park. The server recommended the barbecue shrimp, which was fantastic. Our server was attentive, but it took an exceptionally long time to receive our meals. They apologized for the long wait. Overall, a great dinner, and a good place to take business clients.

Helpful?
Thank DirtyMartini3Olives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Went there to celebrate my wife's thesis defense with my in-laws and wife. Had fried oysters with smoked tomato sauce for appetizer and gnoochi with oak smoked vegetable stock and black truffles. Service was great, food was beyond expectation, and was reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BOMNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, exceptional service and spacious atmosphere”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

On our last night in New Orleans we went to Ralph's for dinner. We had eaten out for the previous 4 nights and were familiar with what was on offer in New Orleans.

The food was on par with the other excellent restaurants, but the service was the best we had experienced all week. The waiter was knowledgeable of the wine list and very attentive. The tables were generously spaced so you did not have the feeling you were eating in a crowded cafeteria, which seemed to be the unfortunate situation at most of the other restaurants.

We only found this place by accident as it is not in the centre of town or in the French quarter. Definitely worth the visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JorgD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm
Level Contributor
201 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Best fish ever?”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I took our daughter to Ralph's last night -- it was our first visit, but it won't be our last. The restaurant is located right across from City Park -- if you're sitting in the right place, you can watch the park train take passengers across CP Avenue -- in a beautifully restored New Orleans venue with a wrap-around gallery on the second floor and an elegant but reassuringly relaxed main dining area downstairs. From our greeting at the door to our service throughout the meal, we felt welcome, comfortable and well fed. The fried smoked oysters are extraordinary, as was the cane-glazed shrimp (a nice cornmeal tempura breading with a tasty Asian sweet and sour sauce). For my entree, I ordered the special -- banana pompano on a bed of sweet potatoes in a lovely, sweetish sauce. This might sound a bit cloying, but in the hands of Chef Chip Flanagan's crew, it was simply delicious. In fact, it may simply be the most delicious fish dish I have ever enjoyed. The skin was slightly charred, giving a nice smokey counterpoint to the complex flavors around it, but the firm, flavorful pompano was never overpowered. Altogether a great dish. My wife's grilled shrimp and Melissa's gnocchi were perhaps less spectacular, but still quite lovely. Side note: During our dinner, a man at a nearby table had a serious heart attack. Fortunately, another man at the table knew emergency first aid, and quickly laid the man out on the floor and pumped his chest to revive him. It was a tense 20 minutes until the ambulance finally arrived, but during the entire event, the staff acted quickly to assist the victim and his family while remaining professional and supportive to the rest of the customers. Their poise and sensitivity helped all involved make the best of a stressful situation. Congratulations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralph's on the Park also viewed

 

Been to Ralph's on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing