We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of The Embers - CLOSED

The Embers
Price range: $25 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Closed due to damage sustained in Hurricane Katrina.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Really liked the steaks here and the crawfish pasta. The service was excellent. It was fun to sit and people watch on Bourbon. The wine was also quite nice. We will go back here again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 899patricial899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    51
    37
    23
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa,Fl.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food, very good view of Bourbon Street.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Food was awesome and plentiful. Great place for a steak or seafood and people watching from the balcony.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Balcony View is great”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

we loved the balcony - so fun to look down on Bourbon and watch the people. Dinner was good, nice waiter, huge drinks - a little sweet but overall a good time

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank carebear031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Like every one of our dinner experiences in New Orleans, no reservations were made and we just wandered in and asked for a table - that being said, we were seated in minutes and immediately dove into the menu.
The steaks and italian food looked very inviting, but being that i was visiting New Orleans i thought I should get the Cajun Platter which i did. A combination of deep-fried catfish, Jambalaya, red beans and andouille sausage - very tasty. Portions were good, and the prices were in line with the portions and the type of restaurant this is. Next time, maybe we will try to eat on the balcony.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Delaware, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view but the food is not the best”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our first night in New Orleans and we did the must do-Bourbon Street. The Embers was the first restaurant that we came to with a balcony. The view was fabulous, the weather was perfect and the service was okay. The food was nothing to write home about. The portions were small, not tasty at all and a little pricey for the quality. But I think we were paying for the great view. It was an enjoyable evening but I would not recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Embers also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing