We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Have Caught Them on a Bad Day.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napoleon House Bar & Cafe

Napoleon House Bar & Cafe
Ranked #106 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Housed in a 200 year old National Historic Landmark this Bar/Cafe' is a favorite with locals and tourist alike
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must Have Caught Them on a Bad Day.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband was so excited to get a muffaletta while we were in New Orleans, and we were told to go here. He was terribly disappointed. The bread was very stale, and the rest of the sandwich wasn't good either. I had a meatball sandwich, and it was nothing to write home about. I wouldn't go back for food, but the bar was interesting and we liked the music. My mimosa was pretty flat too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    561
    236
    71
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
384 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great introduction to New Orleans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

A group of us had just arrived in New Orleans and wanted to get a bit of a taste of the local cuisine. What a great find Napolean House was! For those that wanted a muffuletta sandwich, they could have that, the Poor Boys (Po Boys) were there, as was Jambalaya and a bit of everything else New Orleans. Around the table we had a wide selection and everyone really enjoyed their meals. Then there was the help --- wonderful. They were friendly, helped with the menu and were around when you needed them. Loved it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bbwex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Barely tolerable service in the French Quarter”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Let's see. A good cafe should have friendly service, good food, and a great location. Well, the Napoleon House has one of three. It is in a great location. The food was only average, and the service was horrible. For instnace, the waiter argued with my mother about what she ordered, and even after she insisted that she did not order what he had brough he only grudingly agreed to bring what she had actually ordered. The food took so long to get to us in the first place (well over an hour with a 3/4 full dining room) that she just decided to go with what was brought. I am usually pretty forgiving on poor service, but this place was horrible. The food was mediocre at best, as well. I had a Mulfulata, and all you could taste was the bread. There was barely half an inch of meat and olive tapendae on the sandwich.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Historic spot in the French Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The courtyard is a perfect place for an afternoon cocktail. Tried the bread pudding, it was delicious. Friendly service and great experience

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't Get Any Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is my girlfriend and I's favorite place to grab lunch or a light dinner in the city. Haven't found a better Pimm's cup. Really can't beat their hot muffalettas, they rival Central Grocery. We always ask for Bob and Mike. Two funny guys who never have off days. For starters always consider the cheese board or the bruschetta. For entres the muffalettas of course and their shrimp or tuna stuffed avocado salad hit the spot. On a beautiful day make sure to sit in their charming courtyard. You really can't beat the Napoleon House. Great value, great food, excellent service, and old New Orleans through and through

Helpful?
1 Thank tpusat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napoleon House Bar & Cafe also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Napoleon House Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing