We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum !!!”

Parkway Bakery & Tavern
Ranked #24 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Parkway Bakery & Tavern is a New Orleans restaurant and family dining tradition located at the corner of Hagan and Toulouse overlooking Bayou St. John in Louisiana.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yum !!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

What a great place. We were staying at Harrah's and the staff there said we must go to the Parkway for the best poboys. We took a 10 minute trolley ride and then it was about a 10 minute walk to the Parkway. We had no idea what to expect, but we were not disappointed. We got there at 11:00AM and there were already people waiting - that should tell you something. My husband had the roast beef poboy and I had the surf and turf (roast beef and shrimp) and both were delicious. The poboys are huge and are easily big enough to split, wish we had known that, but hey we were on vacation so who cares about the diet. We also ordered a side of potato salad and it was almost as good as my mom's. We were also told to try their rum cake - OMG - it was the best. We met a nice group of locals while we were there and the owner came up several times to check on us - great service. Try this place - it's worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patmac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    244
    75
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Po-boy EVER!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We used to live in New Orleans, moved 2 years ago. But I still crave the BEST PO-BOY you will ever eat!
Park-way has the BEST Po-boys in New Orleans, we should know because my husband was born and raised there and also cooked in the city for over 30 years, I am a transplant and lived there 20+ years.
The shrimp Po-boy is OVER STUFFED with the best local shrimp and seasoned and fried to perfection.
The roast beef po-boy is fantastic too!
So if your going to New Orleans, please stop by the best place to eat a REAL New Orleans Po-boy at PARKWAY BAKERY & Tavern. There will be a line,cause it's so good. It moves fast
And the people are Great too. A wonderful family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Po Boy in New Orleans”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Make sure and order Surf & Turf po-boy, gumbo is good as well as cold beer and easy to get to-- have to stand inline to place order, but that's part of ambience

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty Po'boy”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

You can't go to New Orleans and not eat a Po'boy. The large Po'boy was huge, so my husband and I spilt it. I ordered a side of fries and my husband ordered a side of gumbo. The shrimp Po'boy was was very good. My husband loved that the gumbo was served with more gumbo than rice.

Helpful?
Thank Kfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not to be missed when in NoLa”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

A not so hidden gem for visitors and locals alike, you can't go wrong with this neighborhood classic. Ask a local where the best place to get a Poboy in town is and you may get a list of places as long as your arm. If you are looking for a local spot where you can't go wrong for an excellent taste of New Orleans then Parkway Tavern is the place for you.

Located just off Bayou St. John and within walking distance from the Fairgrounds (and Jazzfest), Parkway is an old neighborhood haunt where locals and travelers alike sit shoulder to shoulder at the bar or in the back or large patio area. While the food is not to be missed the bar and their welcoming bartenders pour a proper drink. Personally I think the Shrimp Poboy is one of the best in the city. This is a great launching point for great festivals like Jazzfest and Bayou Boogaloo. Easily reached by cab and within reasonable walking distance from the streetcar line.

Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottnRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkway Bakery & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Parkway Bakery & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing