We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Po Boy, Oh Boy!”

Parkway Bakery & Tavern
Ranked #21 of 1,963 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Parkway Bakery & Tavern is a New Orleans restaurant and family dining tradition located at the corner of Hagan and Toulouse overlooking Bayou St. John in Louisiana.
Wellington, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Po Boy, Oh Boy!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Was lucky to find 4 stools at the bar,,, The atmosphere is great here, lots of neat decorations to look at, lots of people having lunch and being at the bar was nice because locals eat here and it was particularly interesting to talk to the bunch next to us. Had beers and shrimp po boys. Was pretty good. Wish I would have tried the corned beef sandwich like my friend did. It looked yummy. Service was great, busy busy but very efficient and nice people working here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    246
    75
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“best of the best!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Flee the French Quarter and go to Parkway!

Casual setting, local place, off the beaten path.

The Po' Boys are out of this world and we had many of them on our trip. So many nice people working here. I had the gator and my boyfriend had the oyster-shrimp. I wish I could have one right now!

This place gained its reputation for a reason and deserves all of its awards and good reviews.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smccl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Po Boy in town”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had had Po Boys from a couple different places, but think this one may be the best. Sat at the bar and had the roast beef Po' boy. Was so big, the wife and I split it (something I never do!). Haven't tried them all, but would find it hard to find one that is better!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Po Boy”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We took the streetcar to this spot. It was worth the 20 min streetcar trip out of the french quarter. We had the catfish po boy and the surf n turf (roast beef and fried shrimp) po boy. The catfish was just ok. But the surf n turf is a must have! The mouth watering roast beef goes perfect with the loaded jumbo fried shrimp. It was a bit messy, but nothing a napkin can't fix.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank haldolhaldol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overrated.”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Waited in line for an hour to eat a poboy that you can make better at home. I got a surf and turf dresses, the roast beet had an odd flavor and the shrimp were ok. I was accompanied by three others. One had a catfish poboy anther had a fried shrimp poboy and the last had a meatball poboy. We all came up with the same conclusion. It wasn't worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Halfcajunkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkway Bakery & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Parkway Bakery & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing