We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy shrimp poboys..”

Parkway Bakery & Tavern
Ranked #19 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Parkway Bakery & Tavern is a New Orleans restaurant and family dining tradition located at the corner of Hagan and Toulouse overlooking Bayou St. John in Louisiana.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy shrimp poboys..”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have eaten here several times while visiting New Orleans and the food is always delicious. I tried the shrimp poboy on this trip and it, too, was done to perfection. There is also plenty off the street parking at this eatery and that's a definite plus in New Orleans.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaTraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    238
    72
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New Orleans' original Poor Boy worth the wait”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

You have to go looking for Parkway Bakery in Mid-City, but the search and wait once you order is well worth the effort. Parkway has been in business for over a century and has earned its reputation as the definitive Poor Boy headquarters in New Orleans. It pulls in locals and tourists alike. Saturday night was hoppin' and the sandwiches, fries, and banana pudding were first rate. It's not big on atmosphere, but with food this good who cares? We ordered the Surf & Turf and the Fried Shrimp Poor Boys (both dressed). No one left hungry. The shrimp was seasoned perfectly and was some of the freshest and best fried shrimp I've ever had. The order of Banana Pudding was a pint of heaven, and three of us shared it. We'll be back for more!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbmom9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and food.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great place outside of the beaten path. Good food and friendly service. Local bèers were delicious. Abita amber and one other.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jreed61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starke, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good po'boy, amazing gumbo and bread pudding!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We had the roast beef po'boy, alligator sausage and turkey gumbo, and bread pudding with rum sauce. Yum!!! The only thing I would change is I wish the po'boy had some spicy mayo or horseradish. It needed a little heat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristenRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“How have I missed this before???”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was my 4th trip to NO, and for whatever reason I had missed out on two things: 1, Po Boys and 2, Parkway Bakery and Tavern. Wow. I had the surf and turf and was incredibly impressed. As others have said, the bread sets it apart. Delicious. It's REALLY off the beaten path and we drove through a sketchy neighborhood to find it. We arrived around 11:30 on a Saturday and walked RIGHT in. No waiting at all. As we ate, it started to get a line, but nothing like what I'd read about. We had the bread pudding and the banana pudding. Both were good, but I didn't think either was amazing. Worth the trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkway Bakery & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Parkway Bakery & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing