We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food; friendly; limited but ok beer menu; family/date spot”
Review of Olivier's Creole Restaurant - CLOSED

Olivier's Creole Restaurant
Price range: $21 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: One of the great restaurant families of New Orleans, the Olivier family comes from a culture known the world over for its Creole cuisine. Whether you prefer traditional classics or innovative delights, we provide it for you at Olivier's in the French Quarter.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very small selection of local brews but the ones they had were okay (Turbodog was what everyone kept ordering after sampling a few). They had a party up stairs so there was a lot of live jazz music filtering down to the lower dinning level which ended up making the evening better. The owner came out and chatted with us and danced around to the other tables (VERY nice older man). We sat at the only large table in the restaurant as a group of 8.

Waiting for the food tended to be a trend and we were also served homemade cornbread squares soaked in butter and honey. I'm a southern girl living in the New England area, so this was perfect in my opinion. The cornbread is also sweet, which is something anyone visiting the south should expect.

My spouse and I split a blackened fish platter but tried everyone's food too and didn't have a single bad dish between us. I think the music upstairs and owner really made the experience for us and we ended up having dessert (bread pudding, and cake) and wine even though we intended it to be a short meal before heading elsewhere.

I would come back if in NOLA for a few days (I tend to prefer new places, but would consider this if staying for several days again). Would be a great date or adult family meal. Children older than 5 were there and seemed to like it as well. Little room between seats, as is normal with most of NOLA.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SiriusScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier's C, Public Relations Manager at Olivier's Creole Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thanks so much for dining with us! We really appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon! Thanks for the great review! Hope you're having a fabulous weekend!

Sincerely,
The Olivier Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 334 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ventured to Olivier's off of a recommendation. It's right off of Decatur street, so a short walk from our hotel in the French Quarter. We were able to get seated right away. Inside it is very 'traditional' but was quiet and on the romantic side, which is what my husband and I were looking for. The cornbread with the honey butter was good, but very sweet. I had the Creole sampler which included crawfish etoufee, blacked fish and jambalaya. My husband had the rabbit with oyster dressing. Both dishes were good, but not the best we ever had. The menu is short and sweet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TV D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier's C, Public Relations Manager at Olivier's Creole Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thanks so much for dining with us! We really appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon! Thanks for the awesome review! Hope you're having a fabulous weekend!

Sincerely,
The Olivier Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We Went There Expecting Outstanding Creole, But Were Disappointed.
Upo Being seated We Were Promptly Served With Corn Bread Soaking In A Plate Of Honey Butter Which Was Great, But Could Have Passed For Dessert And Also Extremely Heavy And Rich For An Appetizer.
Our Server Was Prompt, But Did Not Smile Or Greet Us And Seemed To Be In A Big Hurry.
That Said, The Shrimp Creole Was ok And Kind Of Sweet. The Crawfish Etoufee Had 4 Very Tiny tails And Was Mainly Shrimp. It Was Literally Missing Salt And Had No Real Flavor. For $20 Per Entree, Totally Not Worth It. The Decor Was Like A Mom N Pop Shop And Quite Small. You Had To Squeeze Past Other Guests.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier's C, Public Relations Manager at Olivier's Creole Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thanks for dining with us at Olivier's. I'm sorry to see that your experience with us wasn't outstanding. We'd like to apologize and make that right. Please give us a call or email when you're in New Orleans, we would love to give you the service you deserve with a fantastic meal on us. Thanks for the review, we appreciate that and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
The Olivier Family
504-524-7734
jill.olivierscreole@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We loved our experience at Oliviers so much we visited twice!

We arrived in NOLA close to dinner time and wanted a good meal close to our hotel (The Westin). The lady who checked us in at the front desk noted that the concierge had gone home for the night, but they had mentioned a place called Oliviers that was getting great feedback from other guests and was only two blocks up the street.

Doug the Manager greeted us with a warm smile and offered us a great table at the window (perfect for ppl watching!) The service from the waiters was exceptional - our drinks never went dry, and the staff was by the table a number of times to ensure our meals were perfect. We both had the Trio - a combo of blackened red fish, rice and beans, and jambalaya. All of the recipes are passed down from the family which adds to the comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. They infuse their own speciality cocktails - hurricanes, raspberry purée lemonade vodka sweet tea and our personal fave their own Bloody Mary! Doug even mixed us up the most amazing chocolate whipped cream cocktail for dessert - to die for!!

We were so well taken care of the first night we decided to return on our third night where our experience was even better! Nick took care of us as our server - very knowledgeable and professional! Doug was also there to ensure our meals were (again) perfect - we had the crab ravioli and the Cajun creole steak along with a special eggplant dish for an appi. We also indulged in all three of the specialty cocktails (bloody Mary, hurricane and vodka sweet tea) along with a sampler of their most popular desserts.

All around a fantastic, welcoming, comfortable down home experience at Oliviers. We will definitely return on our next trip to NOLA and will be recommending Oliviers to family and friends.

Doug & staff thank you again for your impeccable Southern hospitality!!!! It was a pleasure to meet you!

Jamie & Dan
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier's C, Public Relations Manager at Olivier's Creole Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thanks so much for dining with us! We really appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon! Thanks for the awesome review! Hope you're having a fabulous weekend!

Sincerely,
The Olivier Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fine dining just off the beaten path. If you want good food, a quiet atmosphere and good service then this is the place. The cornbread with honey was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier's C, Public Relations Manager at Olivier's Creole Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thanks so much for dining with us! We really appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon! Thanks for the awesome review! Hope you're having a fabulous weekend!

Sincerely,
The Olivier Family

Breakfast 8am-12noon
Lunch 11am-3pm
Dinner 5pm-10pm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olivier's Creole Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing