We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait”
Review of Acme Oyster House

Acme Oyster House
Ranked #84 of 1,946 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This place is legendary, so the line to get in is always out the door and down the block. Our group (of 20 ppl) waited in line for maybe an hour, but it was a fun wait. We got drinks from the bar to bring outside for our waiting time. When we were seated, we were in the back dining room and two adjacent tables. Server was great - char grilled oysters are a must try! Everyone seemed to enjoy their meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,707
    1,997
    781
    224
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kind of let down”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Planned a visit here for my po boy craving, having dined here in the past my expectations were high.
I started with the boo fries which were good but maybe a tad too salty.
Then I had "the peacemaker" which is a po boy with fried oysters and shrimp.
I was disappointed. It didn't have the Super fresh taste that I remembered and they were a little heavier on the hot sauce than I recalled.
My friend had the char grilled oysters and said they were to die for, she also gave high marks to the raw oysters.
So I would say if it's oysters you want this is THE place but maybe not the place for shrimp.

Helpful?
Thank vague_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious--Sit at the oyster bar!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The line for Acme was pretty long so I didn't care that they seated us at the oyster bar. I'm so glad that they did. The guys behind the bar opening up the oysters are your waiters and they talk to you the whole time. They are so nice, down to earth, and are so fun. They give you recommendations on what to eat and how to eat it and what to do while in New Orleans. I had never had oysters before (I DO NOT EAT RAW)...but I got convinced to eat the char-grilled oysters and oh my goodness, beyond delicious! I also got a poboy and the pecan cobbler dessert. The pecan cobbler is warm with ice cream on top. I could eat that forever. This place is a must go! Not expensive either!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YumMT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had Oysters on the half shell and Oysters Rockafeller, gumbo, fried platter.. Ohh and BOO FRIES!! The boo fries are amazing, Wish our server had been in a better mood, but everything else was awesome!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LedbetterLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh Oysters!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Great food and service. Worth the hype. Get the oyster shooters! Full bar, made a mean hurricane too!

Helpful?
Thank ATLien62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Acme Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing