We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ummmm Alright Oysters”
Review of Acme Oyster House

Acme Oyster House
Ranked #84 of 1,945 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ummmm Alright Oysters”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I just tried char-broiled oysters on this trip to New Orleans. I went to Crazy Lobster and they were great! I went back and forth if I should go to Drago's. I decied to go to ACME tonight. I stood in line for almost 30 minutes. I ordered a dozen char-grilled oysters. They were okay but not as good as the oysters from the Crazy Lobster. Tommorrow I will try Drago's the place of the orginal grilled oysters.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoleSurvivor_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,704
    1,995
    779
    224
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“worth the wait!!!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

usually will not wait in line for anything! but very glad that we did. the best oysters anywhere! and try the char grilled oysters as well....even if you are not an oyster afficionando!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place, don't miss it!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We didn't realize it was such a good place! We were walking around downtown New Orleans, and saw that, starting 4pm. there was a long line outside of this place, waiting to get inside. So we joined the 'fun' and waited outside for ~30 min. Man! It was worth waiting for! The food was DELICIOUS! Don't miss out the fried oyster, bbq oyster, or even the fresh oyster. Everything was good and tasty. It was quite noisy inside, because it was always full I guess. If you were in New Orleans, you got to try it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Lunch Location”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Everytime we visit New Orleans, we try to visit at least once a year. we always visit Acme for lunch and sit close to the counter prep area to watch them shuck the oysters for our lunch. Our favorite item is a dozen raw oysters with crackers and dipping sauce. It seems we never leave before having that second platter with another dozen raw oysters. They are fresh, tasty and oh, so much fun, we have a race to see who can eat the most of each dozen. Try it, you'll love it. Poo Boys are wonderful also !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best oysters!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Acme was worth the wait! We waited in line outside for about 30 minutes but once we were inside food was AMAZING!! The couple that went with us don't usually like oysters in fact he hates oysters, but we challenged him to try it just once since we hear they are the best at Acme. Acme changed his thoughts!! He loved them so much when we got back home we actually tried making them ourselves! Awesome experience'n

Helpful?
Thank SalazarMendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Acme Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing