We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Oysters and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acme Oyster House

Acme Oyster House
Ranked #83 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Oysters and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

While in New Orleans you must stop in and try the chargrilled oysters! Truly amazing! The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was great. I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColeyLeFrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,565
    1,902
    759
    213
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Gumbo and Bread Pudding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Sometimes there is a line to get in but please wait in it because you are in for a tasty good time. Have some oysters on the half shell with a side of hushpuppies and get ya some gumbo, the best by far to me. Fast service and excellent food!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kandicerenee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place was average at best. We went her on recommendation thinking this is going to be the greatest food we've ever had in our life.

Not so much, it was OKAY. I didn't love it, but I didn't hate it either. The charbroiled oysters and the fries, which was just roast beef gravy, cheese and fries were okay. The raw oysters were, meh not great for the price. I don't regret going because he now I can say I went, but betweeen it and other restaurants that were in the area, I probably would've chosen it.

Don't forget to try the different hot sauces on the oysters, I liked the darker red one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GO THERE!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

What a fantastic place! Historic, unique, interesting!!
A true New Orleans landmark. We liked the raw oysters on the half-shell the best.
The line may be out the front door, but go ahead and wait. The line moves fairly fast but even if you have to wait 45 minutes, it will be worth it!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheAmericanFoodieUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Chinese-type catfish" for the fish dishes in a port town on the Gulf?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

"local" shrimp the size of nickels? 5 of these for a serving in the étouffée? Maybe the oysters are something to write home about (didn't try them) but the jambalaya and étouffée were common, mass produced, industrialized, served like a side order. Disappointing and certainly not 4 star. Roadrunner "acme" type food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Forest-Gypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Acme Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing