We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acme Oyster House

Acme Oyster House
Ranked #84 of 1,932 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Having read all the reviews we had to visit this restaurant whilst in New Orleans. The chargrilled oysters were recommended so that is what we all ordered! We were not disappointed at all. With a side of jambalaya and a pitcher of beer, it was a great meal.
Great atmosphere and great service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacknclare8289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,647
    1,958
    773
    218
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“HEAVEN ON EARTH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

There was a hour 1/2 wait but boy was it worth it. The food was excellent. Must try the debris po boy and the oysters. Great portions! Great service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RitaRoams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still Dreaming about the Oysters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Calling all Oyster lovers. OMG!!! I am not really a fan of cooked oysters. Love them raw with a cold beer. But I decided to step outside of the box while dining at Acme and can I tell you. I still long to taste their grilled oysters. I have never heard of grilled oysters. I found myself eating them every so carefully to allow my taste buds a chance to dissect the ingredients for me to duplicate at home. They were the bomb!!!!! We went on a Thursday night so we did not encounter the lines we saw the following night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TDS611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you have to pick one place pick here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I always try to eat seafood when next to the coast and this is about as good as it gets!

The crawfish, fish and oysters are out of this world. I've been several times and would tell you to go and it is worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Illinibowhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Charbroiled Oysters are where its at”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My fiancé and I were looking for somewhere to eat the night of our wedding that was uniquely New Orleans and decided to give Acme Oyster House a try.When we arrived we were a little worried about the line that was down the street, but we only waited about 10 minutes and they sat all 8 of us no problem. I was excited to see Tabasco products on the table and the checkerboard table cloths, this is what we expected a New Orleans oyster house to be. We ordered a little of everything, Charbroiled oysters, fried crab claws, seafood humber, raw oysters and crab cakes. It was all amazing but I must say that the charbroiled oysters were one of the best things that I have ever eaten. The service was also amazing, our waiter took the time to walk us through the menu and make multiple suggestions that we were glad we listened to. Even when we were leaving, I took my youngest over to the bar where they were shucking oysters. She couldnt see very well so they took her around the back of the bar and let her stand beside them, she was extremely excited. I would love to go back each and every day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingofthehill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Acme Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing